Hagen Matzeit

Contact

Regine Dierse

Phone: +49 40 35719380
E-Mail: info@kulturkontor.de

Hagen Matzeit studied voice in Berlin with Bernd Riedel and took part in directing courses with Ruth Berghaus, Peter Konwitschny and Harry Kupfer. He began his singing career as a scholarship holder at the Komische Oper Berlin, where he has since performed in a variety of roles, first as a baritone and later as a countertenor.

In addition to engagements at the Nationaltheater Mannheim, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Den Norske Opera Oslo and the Teatro Capitol de Toulouse, he has made guest appearances at the Schwetzingen SWR Festival, the Holland Festival Amsterdam, Arts Music Bruxelles and the Melbourne Australian International Festival, among others. His repertoire spans various stylistic eras from early to contemporary music. He sang Hans Scholl in "Die Weiße Rose" at the Téâtre Royale de la Monnaie in Brussels and the title role from "Jakob Lenz" at the Teatro Colón Buenos Aires and the Opéra national de Paris. In the world premiere of "Leila and Madschnun" by Samir Odeh-Tamimi, he performed as Madschnun at the Ruhrtriennale. In the opening production of the 2011 Aix-en-Provence Festival he debuted in the leading role of Aymar in the world premiere of Oscar Bianchi's opera "Thanks to my Eyes" (ARTE TV Live broadcast). Subsequently, Hagen Matzeit also made guest appearances in this production at renowned venues such as the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brussels, the Fondation Gulbenkian in Lisbon and others. At the Semperoper in Dresden, he sang the title role in the world premiere of "Jakub Flügelbunt" by Miroslav Srnka.

He sang numerous title and leading roles in Handel's operas, including Admeto at the Leipzig Opera, Rinaldo at the Karlsruhe Handel Festival, Arminio and Ruggiero (Alcina) at the Halle Opera, Goffredo (Rinaldo) at the Cologne Opera and Egeus (Theseus) at the Komische Oper Berlin. At the Innsbruck Festival of Early Music he sang Armillo in Francesco Provenzale's "La Stellidaura Vendicante" (CD recording Deutsche Harmonia Mundi) and subsequently Cecina in Porpora's "Germanico in Germania".

Recent engagements include the roles of Herold in Aribert Reimann's "Medea" at the Aalto-Musiktheater Essen, Elviro in "Xerxes" at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein, Licisco in Carlo Broschi's "Merope" at the Innsbruck Festival of Early Music and at the Theater an der Wien, and Herr Akustikus in "Das Rätsel der gestohlenen Stimmen" at the Semperoper Dresden. In 2020 he appeared at the Bregenz Festival as Orfeo in the world premiere of Ľubica Čekovská's opera "Impresario Dotcom" (co-production with the Slovak National Theatre Bratislava, performances there in 2022/23), where he also returned in 2021 for the leading role of Poliphilo in the world premiere of Alexander Moosbrugger's opera "Wind". In the 2021/22 season, Hagen Matzeit appeared at the Komische Oper Berlin as Public Opinion in Offenbach's "Orpheus in the Underworld". He sang the leading role for countertenor in the world premiere of "The Red Death" by Francesco Filidei under Sylvain Cambreling with the SWR Symphony Orchestra at the Donaueschinger Musiktage, the Kölner Philharmonie and the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg. He made his debut at the Bavarian State Opera as Axel Freund in the Haas opera "Bluthaus" as part of the new festival "Ja Mai" and was at the Innsbruck Festival of Early Music as Lentulo in C. H. Graun's "Silla". He also made a guest appearance in this production at the Osterfestspiele Schloss Rheinsberg in 2022/23. The role of Axel Freund (Bluthaus) also took him to the Opéra national de Lyon in 2022/23. At the Komische Oper Berlin he appeared again in "Xerxes" and also performed the role of Oyayaye, Queen of the Islands in Offenbach's operetta of the same name. He has already performed this role with great success in 2019 at the Kölner Philharmonie (German premiere for the Offenbach Year, WDR broadcast). For 2023/24, the role of O[Orpheus] in the world premiere of the opera "INES" by Ondřej Adámek at the Cologne Opera, the role of Mary Sunshine in "Chicago" by John Kander and repeatedly The Public Opinion in "Orpheus in the Underworld" at the Komische Oper Berlin are on his agenda. Furthermore, he will return to the Slovak National Theatre Bratislava for "Impresario Dotcom".

Hagen Matzeit has worked with conductors such as Michael Jurowsky, Konrad Junghänel, Yakov Kreizberg, Vicente de Laranága, Fabio Luisi, Allessandro De Marchi, Franck Ollu, Alejo Perez, Kyrill Petrenko, Peter Rundel, Federico Maria Sardelli, Peter Shannon, Andreas Schüller, Peter Tomek or Achim Zimmermann and with directors such as Willy Decker, Claus Guth, Sabine Hartmannshenn, Stefan Herheim, Andreas Homoki, Axel Köhler, Harry Kupfer, Tobias Kratzer (Team ATEF), Nigel Lowery, Jürgen Nass, Alexander Paeffgen, Benedict von Peter, Carolin Petrick, Joël Pommerat ,Erik Sleichim or Elisabeth Stöppler - to name but a few.

O. Adámek

INES (WP)

O[Orpheus],(from 2023-24)

O. Bianchi

Thanks to my Eyes (WP)

Aymar

C. Broschi

Merope

Licisco

L. Čekovská

Impresario Dotcom (WP)

Orfeo

F. Filidei

The Red Death

Countertenor

C. H. Graun

Silla

Lentulo

G. F. Haas

Bluthaus

Axel Freund

G. F. Handel

Rinaldo

Rinaldo, Goffredo

Admeto

Admeto

Arminio

Arminio

Theseus

Aegeus

Alcina

Ruggiero

Serse

Elviro

A. Hölszky

HYBRIS/Niobe (WP)

Fürst Clearte

J. Kander

Chicago

Mary Sunshine, (from 2023-24)

C. Monteverdi

Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria

Pisandro, L’humana fragilita

Orfeo

La Speranza

A. Moosbrugger

Wind (WP)

Poliphilo

S. Odeh-Tamimi

Laila and Majnun (WP)

Majnun

J. Offenbach

Oyayaye ou La Reine des îles

Oyayaye (de.)

Orpheus in the Underworld

Public Opinion (de)

N. Porpora

Germanico in Germania

Cecina

F. Provenzale

La Stellidaura Vendicante

Armillo

A. Reimann

Medea

Herald

M. Srnka

Jakub Flügelbunt (WP)

Jakub Flügelbunt

J. Wulff-Woesten

Das Rätsel der gestohlenen Stimme (WP)

Akustikus

O. M. Zykan

Staatsoperette

Dollfuß

Concert and song repertoire on request

DATES: a selection

All information are subject to change

16.06.24 (UA), 20./22./26./28./30.06., 03./04.07.24
O[Orpheus] in "INES" (Ondřej Adámek)
Oper Köln
ML: François-Xavier Roth, Regie: Katharina Schmitt
error: Content is protected !!

Hagen Matzeit

Kontakt

Regine Dierse

Tel.: +49 40 35719380
E-Mail: info@kulturkontor.de

Hagen Matzeit studierte in Berlin Gesang bei Bernd Riedel und nahm an Regiekursen bei Ruth Berghaus, Peter Konwitschny und Harry Kupfer teil. Seine Sängerlaufbahn begann er als Stipendiat der Komischen Oper Berlin, wo er seitdem in vielfältigen Rollen zu erleben war, zuerst noch als Bariton, später dann als Countertenor.

Neben Engagements am Nationaltheater Mannheim, an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, an Den Norske Opera Oslo und am Teatro Capitol de Toulouse gastierte er unter anderem bei den Schwetzinger SWR Festspielen, dem Hollandfestival Amsterdam, den Arts Music Bruxelles und dem Melbourne Australian International Festival. Sein Repertoire umspannt verschiedene Stilepochen von alter bis zeitgenössischer Musik. Er sang Hans Scholl in „Die Weiße Rose“ am Téâtre Royale de la Monnaie in Brüssel sowie die Titelpartie aus „Jakob Lenz“ am Teatro Colón Buenos Aires und an der Opéra national de Paris. In der Uraufführung „Leila und Madschnun“ von Samir Odeh-Tamimi war er als Madschnun im Rahmen der Ruhrtriennale zu erleben. In der Eröffnungsproduktion des Festivals von Aix-en-Provence 2011 debütierte er in der Hauptrolle des Aymar in der Uraufführung von Oscar Bianchis Oper „Thanks to my Eyes“ (ARTE TV Live Ausstrahlung). Nachfolgend gastierte Hagen Matzeit in dieser Produktion auch an renommierten Orten wie am Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brüssel, bei der Fondation Gulbenkian in Lissabon und anderen. An der Semperoper in Dresden sang er die Titelpartie in der Uraufführung „Jakub Flügelbunt“ von Miroslav Srnka.

Er gestaltete zahlreiche Titel- und Hauptrollen in Opern Händels, darunter Admeto an der Oper Leipzig, Rinaldo bei den Händel Festspielen Karlsruhe, Arminio und Ruggiero (Alcina) an der Oper Halle, Goffredo (Rinaldo) an der Oper Köln sowie Egeus (Theseus) an der Komischen Oper Berlin. Bei den Tagen der Alten Musik Innsbruck sang er den Armillo in Francesco Provenzales „La Stellidaura Vendicante“ (CD Einspielung Deutsche Harmonia Mundi) und darauffolgend Cecina in Porporas „Germanico in Germania“.

Jüngste Engagements umfassen u. a. die Partien Herold in Aribert Reimanns „Medea“ am Aalto-Musiktheater Essen, Elviro in „Xerxes“ an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein, Licisco in Carlo Broschis „Merope“ bei den Innsbrucker Festwochen der Alten Musik und am Theater an der Wien sowie Herr Akustikus in „Das Rätsel der gestohlenen Stimmen“ an der Semperoper Dresden. 2020 war er bei den Bregenzer Festspielen als Orfeo in der UA der Oper „Impresario Dotcom“ von Ľubica Čekovská zu erleben (Koproduktion mit dem Slowakischen Nationaltheater Bratislava, Aufführungen 2022/23), wohin er auch 2021 für die Hauptrolle des Poliphilo in der UA von Alexander Moosbruggers Oper „Wind“ zurückkehrte. In der Spielzeit 2021/22 war Hagen Matzeit an der Komischen Oper Berlin als Öffentliche Meinung in Offenbachs „Orpheus in der Unterwelt“ zu erleben. Er sang die tragende Partie für Countertenor in der UA „The Red Death“ von Francesco Filidei unter Sylvain Cambreling mit dem SWR Symphonieorchester bei den Donaueschinger Musiktagen, in der Kölner Philharmonie und in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg. Er gab sein Debüt an der Bayerischen Staatsoper als Axel Freund in der Haas-Oper „Bluthaus“ im Rahmen des neuen Festivals „Ja Mai“ und war bei den Tagen der Alten Musik Innsbruck als Lentulo in C. H. Grauns „Silla“ zu erleben. In dieser Produktion gastierte er 2022/23 ebenfalls bei den Osterfestspielen Schloss Rheinsberg. Die Partie des Axel Freund (Bluthaus) führte ihn 2022/23 auch an die Opéra national de Lyon. An der Komischen Oper Berlin gastierte er wieder in „Xerxes“ und war dort ebenfalls als Oyayaye, Königin der Inseln in Offenbachs gleichnamiger Operette zu erleben. Diese Partie verkörperte er 2019 bereits mit großem Erfolg in der Kölner Philharmonie (Dt. Erstaufführung zum Offenbach-Jahr, WDR-Übertragung). Für 2023/24 stehen die Partie des O[Orpheus] in der UA der Oper „INES“ von Ondřej Adámek an der Oper Köln, die Rolle der Mary Sunshine in „Chicago“ von John Kander und wiederholt Die öffentliche Meinung in „Orpheus in der Unterwelt“ an der Komischen Oper Berlin auf seiner Agenda. Des Weiteren wird er für „Impresario Dotcom“ an das Slowakische Nationaltheater Bratislava zurückkehren.

Hagen Matzeit arbeitete mit Dirigenten*innen wie Michael Jurowsky, Konrad Junghänel, Yakov Kreizberg, Patrick Lange, Vicente de Laranága, Fabio Luisi, Allessandro De Marchi, Franck Ollu, Alejo Perez, Kyrill Petrenko, Peter Rundel, Federico Maria Sardelli, Peter Shannon, Andreas Schüller, Peter Tomek oder Achim Zimmermann und mit Regisseuren*innen wie François De Carpentries, Willy Decker, Claus Guth, Sabine Hartmannshenn, Stefan Herheim, Andreas Homoki, Axel Köhler, Harry Kupfer, Tobias Kratzer (Team ATEF), Nigel Lowery, Jürgen Nass, Alexander Paeffgen, Benedict von Peter, Carolin Petrick, Joël Pommerat ,Erik Sleichim oder Elisabeth Stöppler – um nur einige zu nennen.

O. Adámek

INES (UA)

O[Orpheus],(ab 2023-24)

O. Bianchi

Thanks to my Eyes (UA)

Aymar

C. Broschi

Merope

Licisco

L. Čekovská

Impresario Dotcom (UA)

Orfeo

F. Filidei

The Red Death (UA)

Countertenor

C. H. Graun

Silla

Lentulo

G. F. Haas

Bluthaus

Axel Freund

G. F. Händel

Rinaldo

Rinaldo, Goffredo

Admeto

Admeto

Arminio

Arminio

Theseus

Aegeus

Alcina

Ruggiero

Serse

Elviro

A. Hölszky

HYBRIS/Niobe (UA)

Fürst Clearte

J. Kander

Chicago

Mary Sunshine, (ab 2023/24)

C. Monteverdi

Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria

Pisandro, L’humana fragilita

Orfeo

Speranza

A. Moosbrugger

Wind (UA)

Poliphilo

S. Odeh-Tamimi

Laila und Madschnun (UA)

Madschnun

J. Offenbach

Oyayaye, Königin der Inseln

Oyayaye

Orpheus in der Unterwelt

Öffentliche Meinung

N. Porpora

Germanico in Germania

Cecina

F. Provenzale

La Stellidaura Vendicante

Armillo

A. Reimann

Medea

Herold

M. Srnka

Jakub Flügelbunt (UA)

Jakub Flügelbunt

J. Wulff-Woesten

Das Rätsel der gestohlenen Stimme (UA)

Akustikus

O. M. Zykan

Staatsoperette

Dollfuß

Auf Anfrage

TERMINE: eine Auswahl

Alle Angaben ohne Gewähr

16.06.24 (UA), 20./22./26./28./30.06., 03./04.07.24
O[Orpheus] in "INES" (Ondřej Adámek)
Oper Köln
ML: François-Xavier Roth, Regie: Katharina Schmitt
error: Content is protected !!