Yosemeh Adjei

Countertenor

Contact

Regine Dierse

Phone: +49 40 35719380
E-Mail: info@kulturkontor.de

Born in Nuremberg with Ghanaian roots, Yosemeh Adjei grew up as a Windsbach Choir Boy. By the age of ten he had already been involved in numerous record and television productions as well as concert tours. He later was trained as an instrumentalist on the trumpet and then became a member of the WDR Radio Orchestra. During this time, he also completed a degree in vocal studies at the Cologne University of Music. Since then, the Altus has made guest appearances at renowned venues including KKL Lucerne Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Auditorio Nacional de Musica in Madrid, Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf, Saxon State Opera Dresden, Teatro Nacional de São Carlos in Lisbon, Early Music Festival of Bruges, Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Schwetzingen SWR Festival, Bach Festival Leipzig and at the Handel Festivals of Göttingen, Halle and Karlsruhe, to name but a few.

Born in Nuremberg with Ghanaian roots, Yosemeh Adjei grew up as a Windsbach Choir Boy. By the age of ten he had already been involved in numerous record and television productions as well as concert tours. He later was trained as an instrumentalist on the trumpet and then became a member of the WDR Radio Orchestra. During this time, he also completed a degree in vocal studies at the Cologne University of Music with Kai Wessel, which he passed with distinction. Consequently, Yosemeh shifted his musical focus back to singing. His vocal development was further influenced by Andreas Scholl, Charles Brett and Thomas Quasthoff.

Yosemeh Adjei was a finalist of the Deutscher Musikwettbewerb and a prize winner of the international Early Music Competition in Bruges. Subsequently Detlev Glanert composed for Yosemeh Adjei the music for the WDR radio play "Orlando furioso". This composition was later published by Random House, New York. In the following year, he made his debut in Handel's "Athalia" with La Statione Frankfurt at the Halle Handel Festival and has since been a sought-after soloist in his field.

Since then, the Altus has made guest appearances at renowned venues including KKL Lucerne Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, De Singel Antwerp, Auditorio Nacional de Musica in Madrid, Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf, Oper Bonn, Saxon State Opera Dresden, National Theater Mannheim, Theater am Gärtnerplatz Munich , Teatro Nacional de São Carlos in Lisbon, Early Music Festival of Bruges, Music Festival La folle journée de Nantes, Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Rheingau Music Festival, Schwetzingen SWR Festival, Ludwigsburg Castle Festival, Ruhr Triennale Bochum, Bach Festival Leipzig and at the Handel Festivals of Göttingen, Halle and Karlsruhe, to name but a few. He has sung under numerous renowned conductors including Helmuth Rilling, Andrea Marcon, Denis Comtet, Laurence Cummings, Nicholas McGegan, Reinhard Goebel, Konrad Junghänel, Michael Hofstetter, Wolfgang Katschner and Alessandro De Marchi.

In 2018, he appeared in the title role of Gluck's "Orfeo" at the International Gluck Festival in Nuremberg. In 2019 Yosemeh Adjei sang the leading role of Valmont in the opera pasticcio "Vivaldi - Dangerous Liasons" with arias by Antonio Vivaldi and Vanni Moretto with the Nederlandse Bachvereniging in a production of the Stichting OPERA2DAY, which took him to various theatres in the Netherlands, including the Royal Theater Den Hague, the Rotterdam Theater and the Royal Theater Carré in Amsterdam. With this production he was also meant to go on a tour through Switzerland in 2020 (cancelled). In 2019, the Altus could be heard with the Batzdorfer Hofkapelle in concert performances of the rarely performed sacred opera "Rappresentatione di Anima, et di Corpo" by Emilio de 'Cavalieri in the role of Piacere. He returned to the Leipzig Bach Festival, and appeared at the 2019 International Gluck Festival in the narrative concert "Im Reich der Schatten". A CD production with this program will follow in September 2020.

Yosemeh Adjei took part in various CD / DVD productions, including for the Sony BMG and ARTHAUS labels.

He is a lecturer in baroque singing at the "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy" University of Music and Theater in Leipzig, at the University of Music in Nuremberg and at the State University for Music and Theater in Munich.

B. Britten
A Midsummer Night's Dream
Oberon (de.+en.)
Death in Venice
Voice of Apollo
J. Cage
Europeras 1+2
Countertenor
E. de‘ Cavallieri
Rappresentatione di Anima, et di Corpo
Piacere
P. Eötvös
Angels in America
Belize
Ch. W. Gluck
Orfeo ed Euridice
Orfeo
G. F. Handel
Admeto
Admeto (stud.)
Agrippina
Ottone (de.+it.)
Ariodante
Polinesso
Ezio
Ezio
Giulio Cesare
Nireno, Giulio Cesare (stud.)
Orlando
Orlando (stud.)
Riccardo Primo
Riccardo Primo
Rinaldo
Eustazio, Goffredo
Saul
Saul
Siroe
Siroe, Medarse
Serse
Arsamene (stud.)
J. A. Hasse
Cleofide
Alexander the Great
H. W. Henze
Phaedra
Artemis
A. Hölszky
HYBRIS/Niobe (WP)
Anfione
W. A. Mozart
Apollo und Hyazinth
Apollo (stud.)
Ascanio in Alba
Ascanio (stud.)
Mitridate, Re di Ponto
Mitridate (stud.)
B. Nikitin
Sänger ohne Schatten
Countertenor
A. Nowitz
Bestmannoper
Jalal
Die Traumnovelle (WP)
Countertenor
N. Piccinni
Catone in Uttica
Melus
G. Porsile
Spartacus
Licinus
H. Purcell
King Arthur
Priest
A. Reimann
Lear
Edgar (stud.)
L. Ronchetti
Mise en abyme (WP)
Nibbio
G. Rossini
Tancredi
Tancredi (stud.)
La donna del lago
Malcolm (stud.)
A. Scarlatti
Penelope la Casta
Gismondo
Didone Delirante
Creuso
J. Strauß
Die Fledermaus/The Bat
Orlofksy (stud.)
G. Ph. Telemann
Der geduldige Sokrates
Antippo
A. Vivaldi
Tito Manlio
Decio
Bajazet
Tamerlano
Farnace
Pompeo
A. Vivaldi/V. Moretto
Dangerous Liasons
Valmont
J.S. Bach
St John Passion
St. Matthew Passion
St. Mark Passion
Christmas Oratorio
Mass in B minor
Lutheran Masses
Magnificat
Various Cantatas
D. Buxtehude
Jubilate Dominus
Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied
D. Glanert
Orlando furioso (WP)
G. F. Handel
Alexander´s Feast
Athalia
Brockes-Passion
Dixit Dominus
Dolce pur d´amor laffanno
Israel in Egyp
Messiah
Ode for the Birthday of Queen Anne
Samson
Saul (Saul)
Splenda l´alba in oriente
Theodora
H. Hasse
Salve Regina
M. Kagel
Der Turmbau zu Babel
G. Pergolesi
Stabat Mater
Salve Regina
G. Ph. Telemann
Erquicktes Herz, sei voller Freude
Halt ein mit deinem Wetterstrahle
A. Vivaldi
Gloria
Salve Regina
Stabat Mater
Cantatas: Cessate! Omai cessate!; Amor hai vinto

News:

© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
EN
DE EN

Yosemeh Adjei

Countertenor

Kontakt

Regine Dierse

Tel.: +49 40 35719380
E-Mail: info@kulturkontor.de

Mit ghanaischen Wurzeln in Nürnberg geboren ist Yosemeh Adjei als Windsbacher Sängerknabe "groß" geworden. Darauffolgend ließ er sich zunächst als Instrumentalist auf der Trompete ausbilden und wurde Mitglied des WDR Rundfunkorchesters. Während dieser Zeit absolvierte er parallel ein Gesangsstudium an der Musikhochschule Köln. Seitdem gastierte der Altus in renommierten Musikzentren darunter KKL Luzern, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Auditorio Nacional de Musica in Madrid, Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf, Sächsische Staatsoper Dresden, Teatro Nacional de São Carlos in Lissabon, Early Music Festival of Brugge, Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Schwetzinger SWR Festspiele, Bachfest Leipzig sowie die Händelfestspiele von Göttingen, Halle und Karlsruhe, um nur einige zu nennen.

Mit ghanaischen Wurzeln in Nürnberg geboren ist Yosemeh Adjei als Windsbacher Sängerknabe “groß” geworden und wirkte schon im Alter von zehn Jahren an zahlreichen Schallplatten- und Fernsehproduktionen sowie Konzerttourneen mit. Darauffolgend ließ er sich zunächst als Instrumentalist auf der Trompete ausbilden und wurde anschließend Mitglied des WDR Rundfunkorchesters. Während dieser Zeit absolvierte er parallel ein Gesangsstudium an der Musikhochschule Köln bei Kai Wessel mit Auszeichnung und verlegte seinen musikalischen Schwerpunkt wieder ganz auf den Gesang. Wichtige Impulsgeber für seine musikalische Entwicklung waren Persönlichkeiten wie Andreas Scholl, Charles Brett und Thomas Quasthoff.

Als Finalist des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs und Preisträger des internationalen Wettbewerbs für “Alte Musik” in Brügge komponierte Detlev Glanert für Yosemeh Adjei die Musik zur Hörspielproduktion “Orlando furioso” des Westdeutschen Rundfunks, welche anschließend bei dem New Yorker Musikverlag Random House erschienen ist. Schon im folgenden Jahr gab er mit La Stagione Frankfurt sein Debüt bei den Händelfestspielen in Halle mit HändelsAthalia“ und gilt seither als ein gefragter Sänger seines Fachs.

Seitdem gastierte der Altus in renommierten Musikzentren darunter KKL Luzern, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, De Singel Antwerpen, Auditorio Nacional de Musica in Madrid, Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf, Oper Bonn, Sächsische Staatsoper Dresden, Nationaltheater Mannheim, Theater am Gärtnerplatz München, Teatro Nacional de São Carlos in Lissabon, Early Music Festival of Brugge, Music Festival La folle journée de Nantes, Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, Schwetzinger SWR Festspiele, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspielen, Ruhr Triennale Bochum, Bachfest Leipzig sowie die Händelfestspiele von Göttingen, Halle und Karlsruhe, um nur einige zu nennen. Dabei sang er unter namhaften Dirigenten wie Helmuth Rilling, Andrea Marcon, Denis Comtet, Laurence Cummings, Nicholas McGegan, Reinhard Goebel, Konrad Junghänel, Michael Hofstetter, Wolfgang Katschner und Alessandro De Marchi.

Er begeisterte in Bachs „h-moll Messe“ unter Morten Schuldt Jensen während einer Konzert-Tournee ein großes Publikum in Japan und ist unter ihm auch regelmäßig in Dänemark und Deutschland und zu hören. Unter Christopher Hogwood war er in Händels „Brockes-Passion“ beim Bachfest Leipzig zu erleben und im Rahmen der Bachwoche Ansbach 2017 in dem Programm “Wohl dem, der den Herren fürchtet”- Musik der Reformation in Franken- mit dem Windsbacher Knabenchor (BR Live Mitschnitt, CD Produktion). 2018 folgte Händels „Messias“ auf einer Spanien Tournee mit dem Orchestra Barocca Catalana, die ihn u.a. in das Auditorio Nacional de Musica in Madrid führte. 2019 sang er ein Soloprogramm mit Händel-Arien unter Joseph Bastian mit dem Orchestre de Chambre du Luxembourg.

Yosemeh Adjei war in zahlreichen Haupt- und Titelpartien des Barock-Repertoires zu erleben, darunter die Titelrollen in Händels Opern „Ezio“, „Riccardo Primo und „Siroe“ sowie die Partien des Tamerlano in Vivaldis „Bajazet und Pompeo in Vivaldis „Farnace. Daneben wirkte er auch in verschiedenen Uraufführungen mit, z. B. als Anfione in Adriana Hölszkys “HYBRIS/Niobe“ bei den Schwetzinger SWR Festspielen und als Nibbio in Lucia Ronchettis Oper „Mise en abyme” an der Semperoper Dresden.

2018 gastierte er in der Titelrolle von Glucks „Orfeo“ bei den Internationalen Gluckfestspielen Nürnberg. 2019 sang Yosemeh Adjei die Hauptrolle des Valmont in dem Opernpasticcio „Vivaldi – Dangerous Liasons“ mit Arien von Antonio Vivaldi und Vanni Moretto mit der Nederlandse Bachvereniging in einer Produktion der Stichting OPERA2DAY, die ihn an verschiedene Theater der Niederlande führte, darunter das Königliche Theater Den Haag, das Theater Rotterdam und das Königliche Theater Carré in Amsterdam. Mit dieser Produktion sollte er 2020 auch auf eine Tournee durch die Schweiz gehen (abgesagt). 2019 war der Altus mit der Batzdorfer Hofkapelle in konzertanten Aufführungen der selten gespielten geistlichen Oper „Rappresentatione di Anima, et di Corpo“ von Emilio de‘ Cavalieri in der Partie des Piacere zu erleben, war wiederholt beim Bachfest Leipzig sowie bei den Internationalen Gluck Festspielen 2019 in dem Erzählkonzert „Im Reich der Schatten“ zu Gast. Eine CD Produktion mit diesem Programm erfolgt im September 2020.

Yosemeh Adjei ist an diversen CD/DVD Produktionen beteiligt, unter anderem für die Lables Sony BMG und ARTHAUS.

Er ist Dozent für Barockgesang an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater „Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy“ in Leipzig, an der Hochschule für Musik in Nürnberg und an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München.

B. Britten
Ein Sommernachtstraum
Oberon (de.+en.)
Tod in Venedig
Die Stimme Apollos
J. Cage
Europeras 1+2
Countertenor
E. de’ Cavallieri
Rappresentatione di Anima, et di Corpo
Piacere
P. Eötvös
Angels in America
Belize
Ch. W. Gluck
Orfeo ed Euridice
Orfeo
G. F. Händel
Admeto
Admeto (stud.)
Agrippina
Ottone (de.+it.)
Ariodante
Polinesso
Ezio
Ezio
Giulio Cesare
Nireno, Giulio Cesare (stud.)
Orlando
Orlando (stud.)
Riccardo Primo
Riccardo Primo
Rinaldo
Eustazio, Goffredo
Saul
Saul
Siroe
Siroe, Medarse
Xerxes
Arsamene (stud.)
J. A. Hasse
Cleofide
Alexander der Große
H. W. Henze
Phaedra
Artemis
A. Hölszky
HYBRIS/Niobe (UA)
Anfione
W. A. Mozart
Apollo und Hyazinth
Apollo (stud.)
Ascanio in Alba
Ascanio (stud.)
Mitridate, Re di Ponto
Mitridate (stud.)
B. Nikitin
Sänger ohne Schatten
Countertenor
A. Nowitz
Bestmannoper
Jalal
Die Traumnovelle (UA)
Countertenor
N. Piccinni
Catone in Uttica
Melus
G. Porsile
Spartacus
Licinus
H. Purcell
King Arthur
Priest
A. Reimann
Lear
Edgar (stud.)
L. Ronchetti
Mise en abyme (UA)
Nibbio
G. Rossini
Tancredi
Tancredi (stud.)
La donna del lago
Malcolm (stud.)
A. Scarlatti
Penelope la Casta
Gismondo
Didone Delirante
Creuso
J. Strauß
Die Fledermaus
Orlowksy (stud.)
G. Ph. Telemann
Der geduldige Sokrates
Antippo
A. Vivaldi
Tito Manlio
Decio
Bajazet
Tamerlano
Farnace
Pompeo
A. Vivaldi/V. Moretto
Dangerous Liasons
Valmont
J.S. Bach
Johannespassion
Matthäuspassion
Markuspassion
Weihnachtsoratorium
h-moll Messe
Lutherische Messen
Magnificat
diverse Kantaten
D. Buxtehude
Jubilate Dominus
Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied
D. Glanert
Orlando furioso (UA)
G.F. Händel
Alexanderfest
Athalia
Brockes-Passion
Dixit Dominus
Dolce pur d´amor laffanno
Israel in Ägypten
Der Messias
Ode an die Geburt von Princess Anne
Samson
Saul (Saul)
Splenda l´alba in oriente
Theodora
H. Hasse
Salve Regina
M. Kagel
Der Turmbau zu Babel
G. Pergolesi
Stabat Mater
Salve Regina
G. Ph. Telemann
Erquicktes Herz, sei voller Freude
Halt ein mit deinem Wetterstrahle
A. Vivaldi
Gloria
Salve Regina
Stabat Mater
Kantaten: Cessate! Omai cessate!; Amor hai vinto

News:

© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
DE
EN DE