Foto:
Anette Friedel

Daniel Johannsen

Tenor

Contact

Regine Dierse

Phone: +49 40 35719380
E-Mail: info@kulturkontor.de

Austrian tenor Daniel Johannsen is one of the most sought-after Evangelists and Bach interpreters of his generation. Since his debut, performances as a concert, lieder and opera singer with works from all eras have taken him to the major music centers of Europe, North America, Japan and the Middle East. In addition to his regular concerts at the Wiener Musikverein and the Berliner Philharmonie, he is a guest at numerous festivals (Styriarte Graz, Rheingau Music Festival, Israel Festival, La Folle Journée, international Bach festivals).

Austrian tenor Daniel Johannsen, born in Vienna in 1976, is one of the most sought-after Evangelists and Bach interpreters of his generation. After completing his training as a church musician, he studied voice with Margit Klaushofer and Robert Holl in Vienna. He participated in master classes with Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Nicolai Gedda and Christa Ludwig, and was a prizewinner at the Leipzig Bach-, Schumann-, Salzburg Mozart- , Hilde Zadek- and Wigmore Hall Competitions.

nce his debut in 1998, performances as a concert, lieder and opera singer with works from all eras have taken him to the major music centers of Europe, North America, Japan and the Middle East. In addition to his regular concerts at the Wiener Musikverein and the Berliner Philharmonie, he is a guest at numerous festivals (Styriarte Graz, Rheingau Music Festival, Israel Festival, La Folle Journée, international Bach festivals). He has sung under the baton of renowned conductors including Sir Neville Marriner, Bertrand de Billy, Jordi Savall, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Thomas Hengelbrock, Dennis Russell Davies, Trevor Pinnock, Michael Hofstetter, Hans-Christoph Rademann, Hansjörg Albrecht and Michel Corboz for instance with orchestras including the Israel Philharmonic, the Academy for Early Music Berlin (Akamus), the Vienna Philharmonic and the Staatskapelle Dresden. He had a particularly close artistic friendship with Enoch zu Guttenberg. Appearances in New York's Carnegie Hall, the Maison Symphonique de Montréal and in the Great Hall of the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory give testimony to this. Daniel Johannsen is also involved in a number of large-scale Bach cantata projects, particularly at the J. S. Bach Foundation St. Gallen (Rudolf Lutz).

In the 2020/21 season Daniel Johannsen is one of the main soloists of the Netherlands Bach Society: in December (all-of-Bach production of the "Christmas Oratorio") under the musical direction of Shunske Sato, in March and April at the great St. Matthew Passion concert series under the baton of René Jacobs. He can be experienced at the Leipzig Bach Festival (as every year since 2011) as well as at the Halle Handel Festival (together with Wolfgang Katschner) and at the Stuttgart Music Festival. The Bach Festival Montréal signed him for a series of concerts under Ton Koopman.

In 2019/20 - in the Beethoven anniversary season - the singer had several important hall premieres: joint with the Swedish Chamber Orchestra under Thomas Dausgaard he made his debut as Jaquino in a semi-staged production of "Fidelio" (alongside Nina Stemme), among others in the concert halls of Stockholm and Brussels (BOZAR) and the Parisian Théâtre des Champs-Élysées. As well under the musical direction of Thomas Dausgaard, Daniel Johannsen would have performed for the first time in the Glasgow City Halls with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. However, the COVID lockdown prevented this, as well as appearances in the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie and at the (completely cancelled) Bachfest Leipzig. However, Daniel Johannsen could be heard in the Wiener Musikverein, at the "Resonanzen" in the Wiener Konzerthaus and several times with the Styriarte Graz (as Don Ottavio in "Don Giovanni" as well as Schubert interpreter).

The lyrical tenor -who appeared at venues including the Munich State Theater on Gärtnerplatz, the Leipzig Opera, the Vienna Volksoper, the Bonn Theater, the Ludwigsburg Festival and the Styriarte Graz- is to be heard on stage with roles by Mozart, with works from the Baroque, of the 20th century and the modernity, but also to experience in some operetta roles.

Recitals with the full range of the German repertoire (but also with English and French compositions) form a focus in the work of the singer, who performs with pianists including Simon Bucher, Charles Spencer, Burkhard Kehring, Graham Johnson and Helmut Deutsch. Daniel Johannsen recorded solo CDs with Schumann's "Dichterliebe", "Tenore & Traverso" (arias by J. S. Bach) and the recently released CD "Lieder ohnegleichen. Franz Schubert" (with Christoph Hammer on the historical Graf grand piano from 1826). In addition, numerous other recordings, which have been published by Carus, Sony, Deutsche Harmonia Mundi and NAXOS, as well as radio and television recordings document his artistic work.

B. Britten
Albert Herring
Albert
The Little Sweep / Let’s Make an Opera!
Clem
L. v. Beethoven
Fidelio
Jaquino
J.C. de Arriaga
The Arabian Princess
Jamil
G. Donizetti
L`Elisir d`Amore
Nemorino
G. F. Handel
Ariodante
Lurcanio
Jephta
Jephta
E. Humperdinck
Königskinder (original version)
Königssohn
L. Janáček
The Cunning Little Vixen
Schoolmaster
E. Künneke
The Cousin from Nowhere
Egon
F. Lehár
Der Graf von Luxemburg
Sergej Mentschikoff
E. L. Leitner
Die Sennenpuppe (WP)
Hirtenjunge (shepherd boy)
C. Monteverdi
Il Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda
Testo
W. A. Mozart
Cosi fan tutte
Don Ferrando
Don Giovanni
Don Ottavio
The Abduction from the Seraglio
Belmonte, Pedrillo
Zaide
Gomatz, Soliman
The Magic Flute
Tamino
Der Stein der Weisen (Pasticcio by Mozart et al.)
Nadir
G. Rossini
Il barbiere di Siviglia
Conte d`Almaviva,Fiorello
W. Sauseng
Das Staunen des Ezechiel
Die Allegorie der Bewegung
I. Stravinsky
The Rake’s Progress
Tom Rakewell
J. Strauss
Die Fledermaus/The Bat
Dr. Blind
Eine Nacht in Venedig
Caramello
P.I. Tchaikovsky
Eugene Onegin
Monsieur Triquet
A. Vivaldi
Serenata a tre
Alcindo
C. Ph. E. Bach
Magnificat
The Resurrection and Ascension of Jesus
The Israelites in the Desert
J. S. Bach
More than 100 cantatas, including some secular cantatas;
all passions
Christmas Oratorio
Easter Oratorio
Mass in B minor
Magnificat
S. Barber
Hermit Songs
L. v. Beethoven
Mass in C major
An die ferne Geliebte
J. Brahms
Liebeslieder-Walzer
B. Britten
Rejoice in the Lamb
Les Illuminations de Rimbaud
Six Hölderlin-Fragments
The Holy Sonnets of John Donne
S. de Brossard
Quemadmodum desiderat cervus
A. Bruckner
Te Deum
N. Bruhns
Various sacred concerts (e.g. "Jauchzet dem Herren")
F. Büchtger
Christmas Oratorio
D. Buxtehude
Membra Jesu nostri
Various cantatas and sacred works
A. Campra
O dulcis amor
M. A. Charpentier
Various sacred concerts
A. Copland
Old American Folksongs
H. Distler
Choral Passion (Evangelist)
Christmas Story (Evangelist)
A. Dvořák
Stabat Mater
Mass in D major
C. Franck
Mass in A major
G. F. Handel
Messiah
Israel in Egyp
Judas Maccabaeus
Utrecht Te Deum
J. Haydn
The Creation
The Seasons
All Masses
M. Haydn
Requiem
Vesperae solennes
Various Masses
A. Honegger
Le Roi David
L. Janáček
Otčenáš
E. Křenek
Reisebuch aus den österreichischen Alpen
B. Marcello
Joaz
F. Mendelssohn
Hymn of Praise
Paulus
Elijah
Christ (all tenor parts)
Soli in various Psalms
M. P. de Montéclair
Various secular cantatas
C. Monteverdi
Vespro della beata vergine (all tenor parts)
W. A. Mozart
All Masses
Davide penitente
Requiem
Vesperae solennes de confessore
Konzertarie „Misero! O sogno – Aura che intorno spiri“
J. Mysliveček
La Passione di Nostro Signore Gesù Cristo
P. Planyavsky
Der zufriedengestellte Autobus
Cactus tragicus
G. Rossini
Petite Messe Solennelle
F. Salmhofer
Heiteres Herbarium
W. Sauseng
Passio Iesu secundum Ioannem (Evangelist; WP 2003)
S. Scheidt
Various sacred concerts
J. H. Schein
Various sacred concerts
F. Schubert
All Masses
Intende voci
Die schöne Müllerin
Winterreise
Schwanengesang
R. Schumann
Das Paradies und die Peri (Jüngling)
Dichterliebe
Liederkreis nach Heinrich Heine Op. 24
H. Schütz
Christmas Story
St John Passion
St. Matthew Passion
Selection of secular works and Symphoniae sacrae
G. P. Telemann
The Resurrection and Ascension of Jesus
Various cantatas from the 'Harmonischer Gottesdienst'
M. Weckmann
Various sacred concerts
H. Zender
Winterreise (on Schubert)
Hinzu kommen zahlreiche geistliche Konzerte und Messen sogenannter „barocker Kleinmeister“

More than 300 Songs by Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms, Mendelssohn, Wolf, Strauss,
Schoeck, including the song-cycles by Schubert and Schumann,
songs by Britten, Barber and Copland and mélodies francaises by Fauré, Duparc and others.


News:

© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
EN
DE EN

Foto:
Anette Friedel

Daniel Johannsen

Tenor

Kontakt

Regine Dierse

Tel.: +49 40 35719380
E-Mail: info@kulturkontor.de

Der österreichische Tenor gehört zu den meistgefragten Evangelisten und Bach-Interpreten unserer Tage. Seit seinem Debüt führen ihn Auftritte als Konzert-, Lied- und Opernsänger mit Werken aller Epochen in die großen Musikzentren Europas, Nordamerikas, Japans und des Nahen Ostens. Neben seinen regelmäßigen Konzerten im Wiener Musikverein und in der Berliner Philharmonie gastiert er bei zahlreichen Festivals (Styriarte Graz, Rheingau-Musik-Festival, Israel Festival, La Folle Journée, internationale Bachfeste);

Der österreichische Tenor, geboren 1978 in Wien, gehört zu den meistgefragten Evangelisten und Bach-Interpreten unserer Tage. Nach der Ausbildung zum Kirchenmusiker studierte er Gesang bei Margit Klaushofer und Robert Holl in Wien; er war Meisterschüler von Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Nicolai Gedda sowie Christa Ludwig und ist Preisträger des Bach-, Schumann-, Mozart-, Hilde-Zadek- und Wigmore-Hall-Wettbewerbs.

Seit seinem Debüt 1998 führen ihn Auftritte als Konzert-, Lied- und Opernsänger mit Werken aller Epochen in die großen Musikzentren Europas, Nordamerikas, Japans und des Nahen Ostens. Neben seinen regelmäßigen Konzerten im Wiener Musikverein und in der Berliner Philharmonie gastiert er bei zahlreichen Festivals (Styriarte Graz, Rheingau-Musik-Festival, Israel Festival, La Folle Journée, internationale Bachfeste); er musizierte unter der Leitung namhafter Dirigenten wie etwa Sir Neville Marriner, Bertrand de Billy, Jordi Savall, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Thomas Hengelbrock, Dennis Russell Davies, Trevor Pinnock, Michael Hofstetter, Hans-Christoph Rademann, Hansjörg Albrecht und Michel Corboz z. B. mit Israel Philharmonic, der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, den Wiener Philharmonikern oder der Staatskapelle Dresden. Eine besonders innige künstlerische Freundschaft verband ihn mit dem 2018 verstorbenen Enoch zu Guttenberg; Auftritte u. a. in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall, der Maison Symphonique de Montréal und im Großen Saal des Moskauer Tschaikowsky-Konservatoriums geben davon Zeugnis. Daniel Johannsen ist an einigen groß angelegten Bach-Kantatenprojekten beteiligt, besonders intensiv etwa bei der J.-S.-Bach-Stiftung St. Gallen (Rudolf Lutz).

In der Spielzeit 2020/21 ist Daniel Johannsen einer der Hauptsolisten der Netherlands Bach Society: im Dezember (All-of-Bach-Produktion des „Weihnachts-Oratoriums“) unter Leitung von Shunske Sato, im März und April bei der großen Matthäuspassions-Konzertserie unter der Leitung von René Jacobs. Zu erleben ist er beim Bachfest Leipzig (wie jedes Jahr seit 2011) sowie bei den Händelfestspielen Halle (gemeinsam mit Wolfgang Katschner) und beim Musikfest Stuttgart. Das Bachfest Montréal verpflichtete ihn für eine Konzertserie unter der Leitung von Ton Koopman.

2019/20 – in der Beethoven-Jubiläums-Saison – standen für den Sänger einige wichtige Saalpremieren an: gemeinsam mit dem Swedish Chamber Orchestra debütierte er als Jaquino in einer semiszenischen Produktion des „Fidelio“ (an der Seite von Nina Stemme) unter anderem in den Konzertsälen von Stockholm und Brüssel (BOZAR) sowie im Pariser Théâtre des Champs-Élysées. Ebenfalls unter der Leitung von Thomas Dausgaard wäre Daniel Johannsen mit dem BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra erstmals in den Glasgow City Halls aufgetreten. Der COVID-Lockdown verhinderte dies allerdings ebenso wie Auftritte in der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie und beim (komplett abgesagten) Bachfest Leipzig. Zu hören war Daniel Johannsen jedoch im Wiener Musikverein, bei den „Resonanzen“ im Wiener Konzerthaus sowie mehrfach bei der Styriarte Graz (als Don Ottavio wie auch als Schubert-Interpret).

Auf der Bühne ist der lyrische Tenor, den Engagements etwa an das Münchner Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz, die Oper Leipzig, die Volksoper Wien, das Theater Bonn oder zu den Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspielen und der Styriarte Graz führten, mit Mozart-Partien, mit Werken des Barock, des 20. Jahrhunderts und der Moderne, aber auch in einigen Operettenrollen zu erleben.

Liederabende mit der ganzen Bandbreite des deutschen Repertoires (aber auch mit englischen und französischen Kompositionen) bilden einen Schwerpunkt in der Tätigkeit des Sängers, der mit Pianisten wie Simon Bucher, Charles Spencer, Burkhard Kehring, Graham Johnson und Helmut Deutsch zusammenarbeitet. Als Solo-Alben liegen bislang Schumanns „Dichterliebe“, „Tenore & Traverso“ (Arien von J. S. Bach) sowie die kürzlich veröffentlichte CD „Lieder ohnegleichen. Franz Schubert“ (mit Christoph Hammer am historischen Graf-Flügel von 1826) vor. Darüber hinaus dokumentieren zahlreiche weitere (u. a. bei Carus, Sony, Deutsche Harmonia Mundi und NAXOS) erschienene Tonträger sowie Rundfunk- und Fernsehaufnahmen seine künstlerische Arbeit.

B. Britten
Albert Herring
Albert
The Little Sweep / Let’s Make an Opera!
Clem
L. v. Beethoven
Fidelio
Jaquino
J.C. de Arriaga
Die arabische Prinzessin
Jamil
G. Donizetti
L`Elisir d`Amore
Nemorino
G.F. Händel
Ariodante
Lurcanio
Jephta
Jephta
E. Humperdinck
Königskinder (Urfassung)
Königssohn
L. Janáček
Das schlaue Füchslein
Schulmeister
E. Künneke
Der Vetter aus Dingsda
Egon
F. Lehár
Der Graf von Luxemburg
Sergej Mentschikoff
E. L. Leitner
Die Sennenpuppe (UA 2008)
Hirtenjunge
C. Monteverdi
Il Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda
Testo
W. A. Mozart
Cosi fan tutte
Don Ferrando
Don Giovanni
Don Ottavio
Die Entführung aus dem Serail
Belmonte, Pedrillo
Zaide
Gomatz, Soliman
Die Zauberflöte
Tamino
Der Stein der Weisen
Nadir
G. Rossini
Il Barbiere di Siviglia
Conte d`Almaviva,Fiorello
W. Sauseng
Das Staunen des Ezechiel
Die Allegorie der Bewegung
I. Strawinsky
The Rake’s Progress
Tom Rakewell
J. Strauss
Die Fledermaus
Dr. Blind
Eine Nacht in Venedig
Caramello
P. I. Tschaikowsky
Jewgenij Onjegin
Monsieur Triquet
A. Vivaldi
Serenata a tre
Alcindo
C. Ph. E. Bach
Magnificat
Die Auferstehung und Himmelfahrt Jesu
Die Israeliten in der Wüste
J. S. Bach
Mehr als 100 Kantaten (auch mehrere weltliche)
Sämtliche Passionen
Weihnachtsoratorium
Osteroratorium
h-moll-Messe
Magnificat
S. Barber
Hermit Songs
L. v. Beethoven
Messe in C-Dur
An die ferne Geliebte
J. Brahms
Liebeslieder-Walzer (beide Sammlungen)
B. Britten
Rejoice in the Lamb
Les Illuminations de Rimbaud
Sechs Hölderlin-Fragmente
The Holy Sonnets of John Donne
S. de Brossard
Quemadmodum desiderat cervus
A. Bruckner
Te Deum
N. Bruhns
Mehrere geistliche Konzerte (u. a. Jauchzet dem Herren)
F. Büchtger
Das Weihnachtsoratorium
D. Buxtehude
Membra Jesu nostri
Diverse Kantaten und geistliche Lieder
A. Campra
O dulcis amor
M. A. Charpentier
Diverse geistliche Konzerte
A. Copland
Old American Folksongs
H. Distler
Choralpassion
Weihnachtsgeschichte (Evangelist)
A. Dvořák
Stabat Mater
D-Dur Messe
C. Franck
A-Dur Messe
G. F. Händel
Messias
Israel in Ägypten
Judas Maccabaeus
Utrechter Te Deum
J. Haydn
Die Schöpfung
Die Jahreszeiten
sämtliche Messen
M. Haydn
Requiem
Vesperae solennes
Diverse Messen
A. Honegger
Le Roi David
L. Janáček
Otčenáš
E. Křenek
Reisebuch aus den österreichischen Alpen
B. Marcello
Joaz
F. Mendelssohn
Lobgesang
Paulus
Elias
Christus (jeweils alle Tenorpartien)
Soli in diversen Psalmvertonungen
M. P. de Montéclair
Diverse weltliche Kantaten
C. Monteverdi
Vespro della beata vergine (alle Tenorpartien)
W. A. Mozart
Sämtliche Messen
Davide penitente
Requiem
Vesperae solennes de confessore
Konzertarie “Misero! O sogno – Aura che intorno spiri”
J. Mysliveček
La Passione di Nostro Signore Gesù Cristo
P. Planyavsky
Der zufriedengestellte Autobus
Cactus tragicus
G. Rossini
Petite Messe Solennelle
F. Salmhofer
Heiteres Herbarium
W. Sauseng
Passio Iesu secundum Ioannem (Evangelist; UA 2003)
S. Scheidt
Diverse geistliche Konzerte
J. H. Schein
Diverse geistliche Konzerte
F. Schubert
Sämtliche Messen
Intende voci
Die schöne Müllerin
Winterreise
Schwanengesang
R. Schumann
Das Paradies und die Peri (Jüngling)
Dichterliebe
Liederkreis nach Heinrich Heine Op. 24
H. Schütz
Weihnachts-Historie
Johannespassion
Matthäuspassion
Kleine geistliche Konzerte und Symphoniae sacrae in Auswahl
G. P. Telemann
Die Auferstehung und Himmelfahrt Jesu
Diverse Kantaten aus dem Harmonischen Gottesdienst
M. Weckmann
Diverse geistliche Konzerte
H. Zender
Winterreise (nach Schubert)
Hinzu kommen zahlreiche geistliche Konzerte und Messen sogenannter “barocker Kleinmeister”
wie etwa Rupert Ignaz Mayr, Johann Heinrich Vierdanck, Andreas Rauch etc.
Sein Liedrepertoire umfasst (neben den großen Schubert- und Schumann-Zyklen)
mehr als 300 Lieder aus dem deutsch- (Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms, Mendelssohn, Wolf, Strauss,
,Schoeck), englisch- (Britten, Barber, Copland) und französischsprachigen Œuvre (Fauré, Duparc).

News:

© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
DE
EN DE