Shadi Torbey

Bass-Baritone / Bass

Contact

Regine Dierse

Phone: +49 40 35719380
E-Mail: info@kulturkontor.de

In 2019 he returned to the Midsummer Festival "Mozartiade" in Brussels, this time for his role debut as Osmin in "The Abduction from the Seraglio". The 2018-19 season also includes his role debut as Mephistopheles in the rarely performed opera "Faust" by Louis Spohr in Koblenz, conducted by Daniel Spogis. Plans for 2020-21 include concert performances of "La Traviata" and the role of the Ghost of the late King Hamlet in the opera "Hamlet" by Ambroise Thomas at the Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège.

Shadi Torbey was born in Siegburg in 1976. After completing his studies in Romance languages and literature as well as in cultural management at the University of Brussels, he studied voice at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels with honors. He then became a member of the opera studio at La Monnaie in Brussels and completed additional vocal training with José van Dam at the Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth.

In 1999 he was prize-winner of the "prix de la vocation" of the Verviers singing competition, in 2001 he was awarded the "Voix d'or" of the Voix d'Or competition and in 2004 the 3rd prize at the renowned Concours Musical Reine Elisabeth.

He has sung under renowned conductors such as William Christie, Bruno Bartoletti, Marcello Viotti, Patrick Davin, Eduardo Lopez-Banzo, Marcus Bosch, Paul McCreesh, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Evelino Pidò, Philip Pickett, Roy Goodman, Laurence Equilbey and worked with directors such as Stéphane Braunschweig, Robert Carsen, Antonio Latella, Gérard Corbiau, Pier-Luigi Pizzi, Karl-Ernst and Ursel Herrmann.

Shadi Torbey was to experience in opera productions as Nick Shadow (The Rake's Progress) in Brussels, as Leporello (Don Giovanni) in Rouen, as Tambour Major (Le Caïd) in Metz and as Lord Rochefort (Anna Bolena) in Lyon, Paris and Dortmund. He sang the role of Ministre Boréen and was the cover for Laurent Naouri in the role of Borée in Rameau's "Les Boréades" with the Ensemble Les Arts Florissants under William Christie at the Opéra de Paris as well as in London and New York. He sang the role of Caronte in Monteverdi's "Orfeo" under Philip Picket at the Opéra de Lyon and the title role in Mattheson's "Boris Goudenov" with the Ensemble Early Music Russia under Andrej Reshetin in Saint Petersburg, Moscow and Hamburg. Furthermore, from 2008 to 2010 he appeared as Lord Sidney in Rossini's "Il Viaggio à Reims" in a CFPL co-production for talented young singers at the Opéra National de Montpellier, Théâtre Du Capitole de Toulouse, Grand Théâtre de Reims, Opéra National Lorraine Nancy, Opéra de Marseille, Opéra National de Bordeaux and others under the patronage of Alberto Zedda. In the 2010-11 season Shadi Torbey appeared as the Speaker in Mozart's "Magic Flute" in a co-production of the Teatro Sociale di Como and the Teatro Fraschini di Pavia. In addition, he sang the role of Carrasco in Mendelssohn's "Die Hochzeit des Camacho" with the Royal Liverpool Orchestra (CD production, could be heard as Alidor in concert performances of the opera "Don Sanche" by F. Liszt in London and at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam with the European Union Youth Orchestra under Laurent Pillot and made his role debut as Isménor in Rameau's opera "Dardanus" (first performance in historical new edition) with the European Opera Center and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

Opera productions in 2011 and 2012-13 included his role debut as Figaro in "Le nozze di Figaro" at the Aachen Theater under the musical direction of Marcus Bosch as well as the roles Cold Genius, Aeolus and Pan in Purcell's "King Arthur" also in Aachen. In 2013-14 Shadi Torbey sang both the role of Colline (La bohème) and the bass arias in scenic performances of Bach's "St. John Passion" at the Osnabrück Theater. In 2014-15 he returned to Osnabrück for the title roles in the new productions of "Le nozze di Figaro" and "Germanicus" by Telemann. In 2016 he sang Leporello in Mozart's "Don Giovanni" in Brussels, and appeared in 2017 at the Wiesbaden May Festival as Amanzio and at the Handel Festival in Halle as Polidarte in Handel's "Il Giustino" (CD recording) with the Lautten Compagney Berlin under Wolfgang Katschner. As part of the Midsummer Festival "Mozartiade" 2018 in Brussels, he made his role debut as Don Alfonso in "Cosi fan tutte" under the baton of David Miller, staged by Eric Gobin. In 2019 he returned to the Midsummer Festival "Mozartiade" in Brussels, this time for his role debut as Osmin in "The Abduction from the Seraglio". The 2018-19 season also includes his role debut as Mephistopheles in the rarely performed opera "Faust" by Louis Spohr in Koblenz, conducted by Daniel Spogis. Plans for 2020-21 include concert performances of "La Traviata" and the role of the Ghost of the late King Hamlet in the opera "Hamlet" by Ambroise Thomas at the Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège.

In the concert field he sang the bass solos in works such as "St. John Passion", "The Creation", "Stabat Mater"(Haydn), Requiem (Mozart),"The Messiah", "Judas Maccabaeus", "Petite Messe Solennelle" and "Das Paradise and the Peri". He was Abner in Handel's "Athalia" under Paul McCreesh at the Acadèmie d'Ambronnay and in concerts in Toulouse, Saint-Etienne and Tours. He could be heard as Abramo in Alessandro Scarlatti's "Cantata per la Notte di Natale" with El Ayre Español under Eduardo Lopez Banzo in Zaragoza and as bass soloist in Handel's "Messiah" under Roy Goodman with the pro musica Graz choir. Other concert engagements have included "Elijah" with the Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra at the Bozar Hall and the world premiere of the multi-media creation "Theseus" by Chris Christoffels. Shadi Torbey also sang both the bass solos in Gounod's "St. Cecilia Mass" at the Herrenchiemsee Festival and in the Verdi Requiem at the European Festival in Passau under Enoch zu Guttenberg. In December 2011 he also had the honor of performing as bass soloist in the Christmas Concert for the Belgian royal family under the baton of Philippe Herreweghe at the Palais Royal in Brussels. Further concert engagements include J.S. Bach's "St. John Passion" in St. Martin in the Fields in London, the Fauré-Requiem with the Orchester Philharmonique Royal de Liège under Christian Arming at the "À la française" festival in Brussels, the rarely performed Requiem by Giovanni Bottesini at the Center of Fine Arts in Brussels and the also rarely performed "Messe des morts" by François-Joseph Gossec under of Frank Braley. In December 2015 Shadi Torbey was invited again to the Palais Royal, this time for Handel's "Messiah" under the musical direction of Bart van Rein. In 2017 he performed with the Belgian ensemble "Camerata Vocale" and its conductor Phillipe de Clerck in Verdi's Requiem. Shadi Torbay also performed "Stabat Mater" by Antonin Dvořák with this ensemble.

He has given numerous recitals with pianists such as Abdel Rahman El Bacha, Fritz Schwinghammer and Eugene Asti. For the Lable Cypres he recorded a CD with Mélodies Françaises from Séverac, Meyerbeer and Saint-Saëns.

V. Bellini
La Sonnambula
Rodolfo
L. Bernstein
Candide
Pangloss
G. Donizetti
Anna Bolena
Lord Rochefort
Lucrezia Borgia
Astolfo
G. F. Handel
Rinaldo
Argante
Giulio Cesare
Achilla
Rodelinda
Garibaldo
Orlando
Zoroastro
Ariodante
Il Re di Scozia
Il Giustino
Amanzio, Polidarte
F. Liszt
Don Sanche
Alidor
J. Mattheson
Boris Goudenov
Boris
F. Mendelssohn
Die Hochzeit des Camacho
Carrasco
C. Monteverdi
Orfeo
Caronte
L’incoronazione di Poppea
Seneca
W. A. Mozart
Le nozze di Figaro
Figaro
Don Giovanni
Leporello, Masetto
Cosi fan tutte
Don Alfonso, Guglielmo
The Magic Flute
Papageno, Speaker
La clemenza di Tito
Publio
The Abduction from the Seraglio
Osmin
J. Offenbach
Les Contes d’Hoffmann
Lindorf, Coppélius, Miracle, Dapertutto
G. B. Pergolesi
La serva padrona
Uberto
G. Puccini
La Bohème
Colline
H. Purcell
King Arthur
Cold Genius, Aeolus, Pan, Comus
J.-Ph. Rameau
Hippolyte et Aricie
Thésée
Les Boréades
Borée
Dardanus
Isménor
G. Rossini
La cambiale di matrimonio
Slook
La pietra del paragone
Conte Asdrubale
L’italiana in Algeri
Mustafa
Il turco in Italia
Selim
Il barbiere di Siviglia
Basilio
La Cenerentola
Alidoro, Don Magnifico
La gazza ladra
Il Podestà
Il viaggio a Reims
Lord Sidney
L. Spohr
Faust
Mephistopheles
I. Stravinsky
The Rake’s Progress
Nick Shadow
G. Ph. Telemann
Germanicus
Germanicus
A. Thomas
Le Caïd
Michel
Hamlet
Ghost of the late King Hamlet
J. S. Bach
St John Passion
St. Matthew Passion
Mass in B minor
Christmas Oratorio
Magnificat
Cantatas BWV 10, 42, 56, 61, 82, 88
G. Bottesini
Requiem
M.-A. Charpentier
Te Deum H146
A. Dvořák
Stabat Mater
G. Fauré
Requiem
F.-J. Gossec
Messe des morts
Ch. Gounod
St. Cecilia Mass
G. F. Handel
Athalia (Abner)
Messiah
Judas Maccabeus (Simon)
Saul (Saul)
Samson (Harapha)
Dixit Dominus
Apollo e Dafne
J. Haydn
The Creation (Raphael, Adam)
The Seasons
Stabat mater
Missa in honorem Beatissimae Virginis Mariae
F. Mendelssohn
Elijah
Paulus
W. A. Mozart
Requiem
Mass in C Minor
Coronation Mass
J.-Ph. Rameau
In convertendo
G. Rossini
Petite messe solennelle
Messa di Gloria
Stabat mater
A. Scarlatti
Cantata per la Notte di Natale
R. Schumann
Das Paradies und die Peri

News:

© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
EN
DE EN

Shadi Torbey

Bassbariton / Bass

Kontakt

Regine Dierse

Tel.: +49 40 35719380
E-Mail: info@kulturkontor.de

Auch 2019 war er wieder beim Midsummer Festival "Mozartiade" in Brüssel zu erleben, dieses Mal mit seinem Rollendebüt als Osmin in "Die Entführung aus dem Serail". Die Spielzeit 2018/19 beinhaltet unter anderem auch sein Rollendebüt als Mephistopheles in der selten gespielten Oper "Faust" von Louis Spohr in Koblenz, dirigiert von Daniel Spogis. Für 2020/21 sind konzertante Aufführungen "La Traviata" sowie die Partie 'Geist des verstorbenen Königs' in der Oper "Hamlet" von Ambroise Thomas an der Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège geplant.

Shadi Torbey wurde 1976 in Siegburg geboren. Nachdem er sein Studium der Romanistik und des Kulturmanagements an der Universität Brüssel abgeschlossen hatte, studierte er Opern- und Konzertgesang am Königlichen Konservatorium von Brüssel mit Auszeichnung. Darauffolgend wurde er Mitglied des Opernstudios am La Monnaie in Brüssel und ergänzte seine Gesangsausbildung durch Unterricht bei José van Dam an der Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth.

In 1999 war er Preisträger “prix de la vocation” des Gesangswettbewerbs von Verviers, 2001 wurde ihm der “Voix d’or” des Voix d’Or competition verliehen und 2004 errang er den 3. Preis des renommierten Concours Musical Reine Elisabeth.

Er sang unter namhaften Dirigenten wie William Christie, Bruno Bartoletti, Marcello Viotti, Patrick Davin, Eduardo Lopez-Banzo, Marcus Bosch, Paul McCreesh, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Evelino Pidò, Philip Pickett, Roy Goodman, Laurence Equilbey und arbeitete mit Regisseuren wie Stéphane Braunschweig, Robert Carsen, Antonio Latella, Gérard Corbiau, Pier-Luigi Pizzi, Karl-Ernst und Ursel Herrmann.

In Opernproduktionen war Shadi Torbey unter anderem als Nick Shadow (The Rake’s Progress) in Brüssel, als Leporello (Don Giovanni) in Rouen, als Tambour Major (Le Caïd) in Metz sowie als Lord Rochefort (Anna Bolena) in Lyon, Paris und Dortmund zu erleben. Er sang die Rolle des Ministre Boréen und war als Cover für Laurent Naouri in der Partie des Borée besetzt in Rameaus „Les Boréades“ mit dem Ensemble Les Arts Florissants unter William Christie an der Opéra de Paris sowie in London und New York. Er sang die Rolle des Caronte in Monteverdis „Orfeo“ unter Philip Picket an der Opéra de Lyon sowie die Titelpartie in Matthesons „Boris Goudenow“ mit dem Ensemble Early Music Russia unter Andrej Reshetin in Sankt Petersburg, Moskau und Hamburg. Des weiteren wirkte er in den Jahren 2008 bis 2010 als Lord Sidney in Rossinis „Il Viaggio à Reims“ in einer Koproduktion für begabten Sängernachwuchs der Opéra National de Montpellier, des Théâtre Du Capitole de Toulouse, Grand Théâtre de Reims, der Opéra National Lorraine Nancy, Opéra de Marseille, Opéra National de Bordeaux und anderen unter der Schirmherrschaft von Alberto Zedda mit. In der Spielzeit 2010/11 gastierte Shadi Torbey als Sprecher in Mozarts „Zauberflöte“ in einer Koproduktion des Teatro Sociale di Como und des Teatro Fraschini di Pavia. Des weiteren sang er die Partie des Carrasco in Mendelssohns „Die Hochzeit des Camacho” mit dem Royal Liverpool Orchestra (CD-Produktion), war in der Partie des Alidor in konzertanten Aufführungen der Oper „Don Sanche” von F. Liszt in London und im Concertgebouw Amsterdam mit dem European Union Youth Orchestra unter Laurent Pillot zu hören und gab sein Rollendebut als Isménor in der Rameau-Oper „Dardanus“ (Erstaufführung in hist. Neuedition) mit dem European Opera Centre und dem Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

Opernproduktionen 2011 und 2012/13 beinhalteten u.a. sein Rollendebüt als Figaro in „Le nozze di Figaro” am Theater Aachen unter der musikalischen Leitung von Marcus Bosch sowie die Partien Cold Genius, Aeolus und Pan in Purcells „King Arthur“ ebenfalls in Aachen. 2013/14 sang Shadi Torbey u. a. am Theater Osnabrück Colline in „La Bohème” und den Arien-Bass in einer szenischen. Aufführung der „Johannespassion”. 2014/15 war er dort in den Titelpartien der Opern „Nozze di Figaro” und „Germanicus” (Telemann) zu erleben. 2016 sang er in Brüssel den Leporello in Mozarts „Don Giovanni“. 2017 war er bei den Maifestspielen Wiesbaden als Amanzio und bei den Händel Festspielen Halle als Polidarte in „Il Giustino“ (CD-Aufnahme) mit der Lautten Compagney Berlin unter Wolfgang Katschner zu Gast. Im Rahmen des Midsummer Festivals „Mozartiade“ in Brüssel gab er im Sommer 2018 sein Rollendebüt als Don Alfonso in „Cosi fan tutte“ unter dem Dirigat von David Miller, inszeniert von Eric Gobin. Auch 2019 war er wieder beim Midsummer Festival „Mozartiade“ in Brüssel zu erleben, dieses Mal mit seinem Rollendebüt als Osmin in „Die Entführung aus dem Serail“. Die Spielzeit 2018/19 beinhaltet unter anderem auch sein Rollendebüt als Mephistopheles in der selten gespielten Oper „Faust“ von Louis Spohr in Koblenz, dirigiert von Daniel Spogis. Für 2020/21 sind konzertante Aufführungen „La Traviata“ sowie die Partie ‘Geist des verstorbenen Königs’ in der Oper „Hamlet“ von Ambroise Thomas an der Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège geplant.

Im Konzertfach sang er die Bass-Soli in Werken wie „Johannespassion“, „Die Schöpfung, „Stabat Mater“ (Haydn), Requiem (Mozart), „The Messiah“, „Judas Maccabaeus“, „Petite Messe Solennelle“ sowie „Das Paradies und die Peri“. Des weiteren war er als Abner in Händels „Athalia“ unter Paul McCreesh an der Acadèmie d’Ambronnay sowie in Konzerten in Toulouse, Saint-Etienne und Tours; als Abramo in Alessandro Scarlattis „Cantata per la Notte di Natale“ mit El Ayre Español unter Eduardo Lopez Banzo in Zaragoza sowie als Bass-Solist in Händels „Messiah“ unter Roy Goodman mit dem Chor pro musica Graz zu hören. Weitere Konzert-Projekte waren „Elias“ mit dem Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra im Saal Bozar sowie die Uraufführung der Multi-Media-Kreation „Theseus“ von Chris Christoffels. Des weiteren sang Shadi Torbey die Bass-Soli in Gounods „Caecilienmesse“ bei den Herrenchiemsee Festspielen sowie im Verdi-Requiem bei den Europäischen Festwochen Passau unter Enoch zu Guttenberg. Außerdem hatte er die Ehre, im Dezember 2011 als Bass-Solist im Christmas Concert für die belgische Königsfamilie unter der Leitung von Philippe Herreweghe im Palais Royal in Brüssel mitzuwirken. Weitere Konzertverpflichtungen beinhalten unter anderem J.S. Bachs „Johannespassion“ in St. Martin in the Fields in London, das „Fauré Requiem“ mit dem Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège unter Christian Arming beim Festival „À la française“ in Brüssel, das selten aufgeführte Requiem von Giovanni Bottesini im Centre of Fine Arts in Brüssel sowie die ebenfalls selten gespielte „Messe des morts“ von François-Joseph Gossec unter der Leitung von Frank Braley. Im Dezember 2015 wurde Shadi Torbey wieder ins Palais Royal eingeladen, dieses Mal für Händels „Messiah“ unter der Leitung von Bart van Rein. 2017 war er mit dem belgischen Ensemble „Camerata Vocale“ und seinem Dirigenten Phillipe de Clerck in Verdis Requiem zu erleben. Kürzlich folgte mit diesem Ensemble das „Stabat Mater“ von Antonin Dvořák.

Er gab zahlreiche Liederabende mit Pianisten wie Abdel Rahman El Bacha, Fritz Schwinghammer und Eugene Asti. Für das Lable Cypres nahm er eine CD mit Mélodies Françaises von Séverac, Meyerbeer und Saint-Saëns auf.

V. Bellini
La Sonnambula
Rodolfo
L. Bernstein
Candide
Pangloss
G. Donizetti
Anna Bolena
Lord Rochefort
Lucrezia Borgia
Astolfo
G. F. Händel
Rinaldo
Argante
Giulio Cesare
Achilla
Rodelinda
Garibaldo
Orlando
Zoroastro
Ariodante
Il Re di Scozia
Il Giustino
Amanzio, Polidarte
F. Liszt
Don Sanche
Alidor
J. Mattheson
Boris Goudenov
Boris
F. Mendelssohn
Die Hochzeit des Camacho
Carrasco
C. Monteverdi
Orfeo
Caronte
L’incoronazione di Poppea
Seneca
W. A. Mozart
Le nozze di Figaro
Figaro
Don Giovanni
Leporello, Masetto
Cosi fan tutte
Don Alfonso, Guglielmo
Die Zauberflöte
Papageno, Sprecher
La clemenza di Tito
Publio
Entführung a. d. Serail
Osmin
J. Offenbach
Les Contes d’Hoffmann
Lindorf, Coppélius, Miracle, Dapertutto
G. B. Pergolesi
La serva padrona
Uberto
G. Puccini
La Bohème
Colline
H. Purcell
King Arthur
Cold Genius, Aeolus, Pan, Comus
J.-Ph. Rameau
Hippolyte et Aricie
Thésée
Les Boréades
Borée
Dardanus
Isménor
G. Rossini
La cambiale di matrimonio
Slook
La pietra del paragone
Conte Asdrubale
L’italiana in Algeri
Mustafa
Il turco in Italia
Selim
Il barbiere di Siviglia
Basilio
La Cenerentola
Alidoro, Don Magnifico
La gazza ladra
Il Podestà
Il viaggio a Reims
Lord Sidney
L. Spohr
Faust
Mephistopheles
I. Strawinsky
The Rake’s Progress
Nick Shadow
G. Ph. Telemann
Germanicus
Germanicus
A. Thomas
Le Caïd
Michel
Hamlet
Geist des verstorbenen Königs
J. S. Bach
Johannespassion
Matthäuspassion
Messe in h-moll
Weihnachtsoratorium
Magnificat
Kantaten BWV 10, 42, 56, 61, 82, 88
G. Bottesini
Requiem
M.-A. Charpentier
Te Deum H146
A. Dvořák
Stabat Mater
G. Fauré
Requiem
F.-J. Gossec
Messe des morts
Ch. Gounod
Caecilienmesse
G. F. Händel
Athalia (Abner)
Messiah
Judas Maccabeus (Simon)
Saul (Saul)
Samson (Harapha)
Dixit Dominus
Apollo e Dafne
J. Haydn
Die Schöpfung (Raphael, Adam)
Die Jahreszeiten
Stabat mater
Große Orgelsolomesse
F. Mendelssohn
Elias
Paulus
W. A. Mozart
Requiem
Missa in c-moll
Krönungsmesse
J.-Ph. Rameau
In convertendo
G. Rossini
Petite messe solennelle
Messa di Gloria
Stabat mater
A. Scarlatti
Cantata per la Notte di Natale
R. Schumann
Das Paradies und die Peri

News:

© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
© 2020 Kulturkontor.de
DE
EN DE