Olivia Vermeulen repertoire opera operetta rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor Biography
Olivia Vermeulen
Mezzo-soprano
Hagen Matzeit repertoire concert lied
ALTO
MEZZO-SOPRANO 
TENOR
GERMAN
HOME
NEWS
ABOUT US
NEWS
HOME
GERMAN
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor
Olivia Vermeulen Mezzo-soprano

Foto:Felix Broede

“Olivia Vermeulen as Cherubino sings with exquisite, inexhaustible sweetness.”

(FAZ 8 November 2011)

 “Olivia Vermeulen in the title role of Ariodante sang such wonderfully luminous, captivating coloraturas that  no one will ever forget it.”

(Eleonore Büning, FAZ 2011)



Mezzosoprano Olivia Vermeulen has in recent years established herself as a versatile soloist on major international stages.


In May 2016, she made her tumultuously celebrated debut at the Berlin State Opera, taking the lead role of Turno in Agostino Steffani's opera Amor Vien dal Destino under René Jacobs. In addition, she has toured with the Budapest Festival Orchestra under Iván Fischer in Mozart's Magic Flute to cities including Budapest, Amsterdam, London and Berlin, and performed for the first time under Daniel Harding with the London Symphony Orchestra, singing Schumann's Scenes from Goethe's Faust in London's Barbican Hall.


In 2017, the mezzo soprano will make her debut at the Ruhrtriennale in a world premiere by Philippe Manoury. She will also sing the title role in Vivaldi's opera Arsilda (Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Opéra Royal Versailles), and perform at the Opéra Comique in Paris.


In 2018, she will return to the Berlin State Opera as Cherubino.


In 2015 she gave her debut as Annio in Mozart's La clemenza di Tito under Christopher Moulds in Moscow. In Japan she performed in J. S. Bach’s St Matthew Passion under Masaaki Suzuki and participated in a CD recording of Mozart’s Great Mass in C minor, also with Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki.


In the 2013/14 season Olivia Vermeulen sang the part of Cherubino in Le nozze di Figaro under Jonathan Cohen in a production by the Festival Aix-en-Provence at the opera of Dijon. At the Händel-Festspiele Karlsruhe and the Concertgebouw Amsterdam she received much acclaim for her performances as Almirena in Handel’s opera Rinaldo with the Lautten Compagney Berlin. Together with this ensemble she also recorded a solo CD of Italian Baroque arias, which will be released by Sony/BMG.


In 2012 she was acclaimed by critics and audiences alike for her Amsterdam Concertgebouw debut with the Radio Kamer Filharmonie under Michael Schønwandt. Another successful debut followed in 2013 at the Dutch National Opera in Amsterdam, as Smeraldine in Prokofiev’s The Love for Three Oranges, conducted by Tomáš Netopil.


The mezzo soprano appears regularly at international festivals (Opera Festival Munich, Musikfest Berlin, Handelfestspiele Halle) and on major concert stages, under Philippe Herreweghe, Helmuth Rilling, Iván Fischer, Peter Eötvös, Marek Janowski, Andrea Marcon, Franz Brüggen, Andrew Parrott, Reinhard Goebel, Michael Schønwandt, Andreas Spering, Alessandro de Marchi, Konrad Junghänel, Enoch zu Guttenberg and Lothar Zagrosek.


Olivia Vermeulen launched her operatic career as a member of the Studio of Berlin’s Komische Oper from 2008 to 2010, where she appeared in such leading Mozart roles as Cherubino (directed by Barrie Kosky) and Zerlina. At the opening of the 2010/11 season at the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow she took the role of L’Enfant in a concert performance of Ravel’s opera L’Enfant e les Sortilèges, conducted by Vladimir Jurowski. Other leading parts in her repertoire include Ariodante in Ariodante, Hansel in Hansel and Gretel, Ramiro in La finta giardiniera, Idamante in Idomeneo and the title role in La Cenerentola.


Olivia Vermeulen studied singing in Detmold with Mechtild Böhme, completing her training with Julie Kaufmann at the University of the Arts in Berlin. She supplemented her studies with song classes under Wolfram Rieger and Axel Bauni and master classes with Andreas Scholl, Thomas Quasthoff, René Jacobs, Irwin Gage and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. Currently she is coached by Magreet Honig.


In 2008, the rising star won the prestigious international 'La Voce' song competition held by public- service broadcaster Bayerischer Rundfunk. The versatile singer’s artistry is documented on numerous broadcast and CD recordings.




Last update December 2016

rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor Biographie
Olivia Vermeulen
Mezzosopran
Hagen Matzeit Repertoire Konzert Lied Olivia Vermeulen Repertoire Oper Operette
ÜBER UNS
AKTUELLES
HOME
ENGLISH
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor

"Olivia Vermeulen als Cherubino singt mit erlesener, nie versiegender Süße." (FAZ)

Olivia Vermeulen in der Titelrolle des Ariodante sang so wundervoll leuchtende, fesselnde Koloraturen, dass keiner das je vergessen wird.“ (Eleonore Büning, FAZ)


Die Niederländische Mezzosopranistin Olivia Vermeulen hat sich in den letzten Jahren als vielseitige Solistin auf internationaler Ebene etabliert.


Im Mai 2016 gab sie ihr stürmisch gefeiertes Debüt an der Berliner Staatsoper, in der Hauptrolle des Turno in der Oper Amor vien dal destino von Agostino Steffani unter René Jacobs. Darüber hinaus war sie mit dem Budapest Festival Orchestra unter Iván Fischer in Mozarts Zauberflöte auf Tournee (u.a in Budapest, Amsterdam, London und Berlin), und konzertierte erstmalig unter Daniel Harding mit dem London Symphony Orchestra mit Schumanns Faustszenen in der Barbican Hall in London.


2017 wird die Künstlerin bei der Ruhrtriennale debütieren in der Uraufführung von Philippe Manourys Oper "Kein Licht“. Sie wird die Titelpartie singen in der Vivaldi Oper Arsilda am Grand Theatre Luxembourg, an der Opéra de Lille sowie an der Opéra Royal Versailles. Des weiteren wird sie an der Opéra Comique in Paris zu hören sein.


2018 wird sie u.a. als Cherubino an die Staatsoper Berlin zurückkehren.


2015 gab die Mezzosopranistin ihr Debüt als Annio in Mozarts La clemenza di Tito unter Christopher Moulds in Moskau, außerdem konzertierte sie in Tokio unter Masaaki Suzuki in Bachs Matthäuspassion und Mozarts c-moll Messe, und war in einer Tournee mit Bachs Weihnachtsoratorium unter Helmuth Rilling zu hören.

In der Spielzeit 2013/14 sang Olivia Vermeulen unter anderem Cherubino in Le nozze di Figaro in einer Produktion des Festival de Aix-en-Provence an der Opéra de Dijon unter Jonathan Cohen. Im Herbst 2014 gastierte sie in derselben Produktion unter Andreas Spering in Bahrain. Bei den Händelfestspielen Karlsruhe und im Concertgebouw Amsterdam war sie mit großem Erfolg als Almirena in der Händel-Oper Rinaldo mit der Lautten Compagney Berlin zu hören. Mit diesem Ensemble spielte sie auch eine Solo-CD mit Arien des italienischen Barock ein, die bei Sony/BMG erscheinen wird.


Für ihr Debüt 2012 am Concertgebouw Amsterdam mit der Radio Kamer Filharmonie unter Michael Schønwandt wurde sie von Presse und Publikum gefeiert. Ein weiteres erfolgreiches Debüt folgte 2013 an der Nederlandse Opera in Amsterdam als Smeraldine in Die Liebe zu den drei Orangen unter der musikalischen Leitung von Tomáš Netopil.


Ihren Karrierestart im Bereich der Oper machte sie 2008 – 2010 im Studio der Komischen Oper Berlin, wo sie bereits im regulären Spielplan des Hauses in tragenden Mozart-Rollen wie Cherubino (Regie: Barry Kosky) und Zerlina zu erleben war.


Darauffolgend gastierte sie auf Einladung von Vladimir Jurowski am Bolschoi Theater in Moskau zur Saisoneröffnung 2010/11 als L’Enfant in konzertanter Aufführung der Ravel-Oper L’Enfant et les Sortilèges. Weitere tragende Partien ihres Repertoires sind unter anderem Ariodante (Ariodante), Hänsel (Hänsel und Gretel), Ramiro (La finta Giardiniera), Idamante (Idomeneo) und die Titelpartie in La Cenerentola.


Neben der Oper ist Olivia Vermeulen besonders als Konzertsolistin tätig; sie arbeitete bereits mit vielen namhaften Dirigenten wie Philippe Herreweghe, Iván Fischer, Marek Janowski, Andrea Marcon, Franz Brüggen, Andrew Parrott, Reinhard Goebel, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Michael Schønwandt, Andreas Spering, Alessandro de Marchi, Konrad Junghänel und Lothar Zagrosek.


Sie gastiert regelmäßig beim renommierten Kissinger Sommer, wo sie unter anderem Lieder von Wolfgang Rihm uraufführte, sowie bei den Herrenchiemsee Festspielen. Sie war beim Rheingau Musik Festival, dem Festival RheinVokal, dem Musikfest Stuttgart, den Händelfestspielen Halle, und den Münchner Opernfestspielen zu hören. Mit der Musikfabrik Köln unter Peter Eötvös gastierte sie in der Berliner Philharmonie im Rahmen des Musikfestes Berlin.

Olivia Vermeulen studierte Gesang in Detmold bei Mechtild Böhme und in Berlin bei Julie Kaufmann. Zudem besuchte sie Liedklassen von Wolfram Rieger und Axel Bauni sowie Meisterkurse bei Andreas Scholl, Thomas Quasthoff, René Jacobs, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau und Irwin Gage. Momentan wird die Mezzosopranistin von Margreet Honig gecoached.


Sie gewann den internationalen Liedwettbewerb des Bayerischen Rundfunks ‘La Voce’ in 2008. Zahlreiche Rundfunk- und CD-Einspielungen dokumentieren die Arbeit der vielseitigen Sängerin.



Stand Dezember 2016

Olivia Vermeulen Mezzosopran

Foto:Felix Broede

Olivia Vermeulen Mezzosopran