rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor
Michael Gniffke
Tenor
Biography
ornament_kulturkontor ABOUT US
NEWS
HOME
GERMAN
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor

The German tenor Michael Gniffke began a career in business-management before studying classical singing in Zurich with his father, the opera singer Rudolf A. Hartmann. Subsequently, he continued his studies with Alfred Muff, Stefan Haselhoff Robert Schunk and Gudrun Bär.


He made his stage debut as Count Zedlau in the operetta Wiener Blut. In addition to numerous leading roles in operetta, Michael Gniffke has sung Alfredo (La Traviata), Tamino (The Magic Flute), Hoffmann (The Tales of Hoffmann), Max (Der Freischütz/The Freeshooter), the title-role in Gounod’s Faust and Don José in Carmen.


Recently, Michael Gniffke has been specializing in character roles and contemporary repertoire such as Witch (Hansel and Gretel), Cavalier (Cardillac), Captain (Wozzeck), the tenor-part in Detlev Glanert´s Drei Wasserspiele, as well as expanding into roles of the German fach such as Paul (Die Tote Stadt), Herod (Salome), Loge (Das Rheingold), Mime (Das Rheingold, Siegfried) as well as Aegisth (Elektra).


In 2015, the tenor made his role debut as Captain in Wozzeck at the Opéra de Dijon in a highly regarded production with the SWR Radio Orchestra Baden-Baden and Freiburg; followed by his role-debut as Aegisth in Elektra at the Theater Magdeburg in 2015-16. Since 2014, he frequently performs the role of the Witch in Hansel and Gretel at the Theater Lübeck – as well in 2017-18. In 2016-17, the tenor made his role debut as Alwa in Alban Berg’s Lulu at the Theater Ulm. In 2018, he will appear as Adolf Hitler in the world première of Alexander Raskatov’s opera „Germania“ at the Opéra National de Lyon.


In 2018, Michael Gniffke will make his Bayreuth debut as 1. Nobleman of Brabant, followed by a revival in 2019.


An extensive concert activity completes his musical commitment. The "Requiem" by Andrew Lloyd Webber, "Le Laudi" by Herman Suter and the "Requiem" by Giuseppe Verdi are some of the highlights of his concert career.


Last update August 2017



James Elliott Tenor

rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor
Michael Gniffke
Tenor
Biographie
ornament_kulturkontor ÜBER UNS
AKTUELLES
HOME
ENGLISH
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor

Der deutsche Tenor Michael Gniffke schlug zunächst eine betriebswirtschaftliche Laufbahn ein, bevor er sich in Zürich bei seinem Vater, dem Opernsänger Rudolf A. Hartmann, zum klassischen Sänger ausbilden ließ. Es folgten Studien bei Alfred Muff, Stefan Haselhoff Robert Schunk und Gudrun Bär.


Sein Bühnendebüt gab er als Graf Zedlau in der Operette "Wiener Blut". Neben dem Operettenfach sang Michael Gniffke u.a. Alfredo („La Traviata“), Tamino („Die Zauberflöte“), Hoffmann („Hoffmanns Erzählungen“), Max („Der Freischütz“), die Titelpartie in Gounods "Faust" sowie Don José in "Carmen".


In letzter Zeit spezialisiert sich der Tenor zunehmend auf Charakterpartien und zeitgenössisches Repertoire, darunter z. B. der Hauptmann in "Wozzeck" oder die Tenorpartie in Detlev Glanerts "Drei Wasserspiele". Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt seines Repertoires bilden Rollen des deutschen Fachs wie Paul („Die Tote Stadt“), Herodes („Salome“), Loge („Das Rheingold“), Mime („Das Rheingold“ und „Siegfried“) Kavalier („Cardillac“), Hexe („Hänsel und Gretel“) oder Aegisth („Elektra“).


2015 gab Michael Gniffke sein erfolgreiches Debüt an der Opéra de Dijon als Hauptmann in "Wozzeck" in der viel beachteten Inszenierung von Sandrine Angelade, mit dem SWR Rundfunkorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg unter Emilio Pomárico. 2015/16 folgte sein Rollendebüt als Aegisth in "Elektra" am Theater Magdeburg. Seit 2014 ist der Tenor außerdem jedes Jahr als Hexe in "Hänsel und Gretel" am Theater Lübeck zu erleben, so auch wieder im Winter 2017/18. Weitere Engagements führten ihn unter anderem nach Ulm, wo er in 2017 die Rolle des Alwa in Alban Bergs "Lulu" sang. In 2017/18 wird er an der Opéra National de Lyon in der UA von Alexander Raskatovs Oper „Germania“ in der Rolle des Adolf Hitler gastieren.


2018 wird Michael Gniffke erstmals bei den Bayreuther Festspielen zu hören sein, hier als 1. Brabantischer Edler in „Lohengrin“ mit einem Folgeengagemen für 2019.


Eine umfangreiche Konzerttätigkeit rundet sein musikalisches Engagement ab, wobei das “Requiem” von Andrew Lloyd-Webber, “Le Laudi” von Herman Suter sowie das „Requiem“ von Verdi Höhepunkte seiner konzertanten Laufbahn darstellen.




Stand August 2017


Michael Gniffke Tenor
Michael Gniffke Tenor