Katja Pieweck repertoire opera operetta rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor Biography
Katja Pieweck
Mezzo-soprano
Katja Pieweck repertoire concert lied
ABOUT US
NEWS
HOME
GERMAN
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor
ALTO

Katja Pieweck was born in Hanover. She studied voice with Judith Beckmann at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg, where she participated in various masterclasses, including those with Elio Battaglia, Brigitte Fassbaender, and James Wagner.


Katja is a prize-winner of numerous competitions, including the Oberdörfer-Prize 2007 by the Körber-Foundation, the ‘Kulturpreis der Berenberg Bank Stiftung’, and was the winner of the International Robert Stolz Singing Competition 2000 in Hamburg.


From 1997 to 1999 she was a member of the International Opera Studio at the Hamburg State Opera, where she appeared in roles such as Sélysette in the new production of Ariane et Barbe-Bleue (Dukas) conducted by Ingo Metzmacher, and as Siegrune in Die Walküre/The Valkyrie under Gerd Albrecht. In the Season of 1998-99, she sang Mercédès in Carmen (Bizet) and Alisa in a new production of Lucia di Lammermoor under the baton of Frédéric Chaslin.


In 1999, Katja became a member of the Hamburg State Opera’s ensemble. The roles of her first seasons included: Mother in Les Contes d’Hoffmann, First Lady in Die Zauberflöte/The Magic Flute, Mother in Hansel and Gretel, Marcellina in Le Nozze di Figaro, Suzuki in Madama Butterfly and Annina in Der Rosenkavalier (Strauss) directed by Peter Konwitschny. In the 2002-03 Season, she appeared as Magdalena in the premiere of Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg (Wagner), directed by Konwitschny as well.

Further roles at the Hamburg State Opera have been: Fenena in Nabucco under the direction of Karoline Gruber; Mère Marie in Dialogues des Carmélites, Marquise de Berkenfield in La Fille du Régiment (Donizetti), Emilia in Otello, and Klementia in a concert performance of the opera Sancta Susanna by Hindemith. In 2007, Katja made her role debut as Brangaene in Tristan und Isolde under Simone Young, and sang the alto-solo in the ballet version of J. S. Bach’s Christmas Oratorio directed by John Neumeier. In the new 2008 production of Wagner’s Ring cycle she made her role debut as Fricka in the premiere of Das Rheingold. Other notable roles in 2008-09 were Meg Page in Falstaff and Adelaide in Arabella. In the 2009-10 Season, Katja appeared as Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni and made her role-debut as Alice Ford in Falstaff. In 2010-11, she repeated Fricka, Marcellina and 1st Lady. In 2011/12, she sang the role of Goneril in A. Reimann’s Lear to great acclaim. In 2012-13, her roles in Hamburg included Ortrud/Lohengrin, Fricka/Das Rheingold, Sieglinde/Die Walküre/The Valkyrie (understudy) and Brangaene. As a special highlight she made her role-debut as Adriano in R. Wagner’s Rienzi. Role debuts in 2013-14 have included the title-role in R. Strauss’ Ariadne auf Naxos and Leonore in Beethoven’s Fidelio. A new part in 2015 will be Marguerite in Honegger’s Jeanne d’Arc au bûcher alongside renowned French actress Fanny Ardant as Jeanne.


Outside her engagements with the Hamburgische Staatsoper Katja was a guest soloist at the Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin in 2003-04 as the First Maid in Elektra (Strauss), and in 2003 performed at the Staatstheater Mainz as Eglantine in Euryanthe (Weber) with great success. In 2005 she appeared in two concerts of Jenufa (Janáček) with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra under Sir Simon Rattle and also in the same year as Aufseherin in Elektra at the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich under Peter Schneider. At the 2004 and 2006 International Herrenchiemsee Festpiele she sang the part of Marcellina in Le Nozze di Figaro, and in 2007 made her role debut as Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni under Enoch zu Guttenberg. In 2010 and 2011, she returned to the Herrenchiemsee Festspiele as 2nd Lady in Mozart’s The Magic Flute. In 2013, she has guested at the noted Lucerne Festival in Wagner’s Valkyrie with the Bamberger Symphoniker under Jonathan Nott. In 2015, she will return to the Bayerische Staatsoper for Strauss’ Elektra.


Besides her operatic activities, Katja Pieweck is a passionate concert-, lied- and oratorio-singer. Concert engagments led her to various European countries as well as to Israel, Russia, Japan and the USA. She has worked with distinguished conductors such as Ingo Metzmacher, Gerd Albrecht, Rolf Beck, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Günter Jena, Sebastian Weigle, and Krzysztof Penderecki.

Last update September 2014












Mezzo-soprano Katja Pieweck

rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor Biographie
Katja Pieweck
Mezzosopran
Katja Pieweck Repertoire Konzert Lied Katja Pieweck Repertoire Oper Operette
ALT
MEZZOSOPRAN 
TENOR 
ÜBER UNS
AKTUELLES
HOME
ENGLISH
ENGLISH
HOME
AKTUELLES
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor

Die in Hannover geborene Mezzosopranistin Katja Pieweck absolvierte ihre Ausbildung an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg bei Judith Beckmann. Meisterkurse bei Elio Battaglia, Brigitte Fassbaender und James Wagner ergänzten ihr Studium.


Katja Pieweck ist Preisträgerin zahlreicher Wettbewerbe, darunter der Oberdörffer-Preis 2007 der Körber-Stiftung, der Kulturpreis der Berenberg-Bank Hamburg und der erste Preis des Internationalen Robert-Stolz-Gesangswettbewerbs 2000 in Hamburg.


In der Spielzeit 1997bis 1999 war Katja Pieweck Mitglied des Internationalen Opernstudios der Hamburgischen Staatsoper, wo sie als Sélysette in der Neuproduktion von „Ariane et Barbe-Bleue“ (Dukas) unter der musikalischen Leitung von Ingo Metzmacher und als Siegrune in „Die Walküre“ unter dem Dirigat von Gerd Albrecht auf der Bühne stand. In der Spielzeit 1998/99 sang sie unter anderem die Mercédès in „Carmen“ und die Alisa in der Neuproduktion von „Lucia di Lammermoor“ unter dem Dirigat von Frédéric Chaslin.


Mit Beginn der Spielzeit 1999/2000 wurde Katja Pieweck in das Solistenensemble der Hamburgischen Staatsoper übernommen. Ihre Partien waren seither Mutter in „Hoffmanns Erzählungen“, 1. Dame in „Die Zauberflöte“, Mutter in „Hänsel und Gretel“, Marcellina in „Le Nozze di Figaro“, Suzuki in „Madame Butterfly“ und Annina im „Rosenkavalier“ in der Regie von Peter Konwitschny. In 2002/03 sang sie in der Premiere der „Meistersinger von Nürnberg“ in der Regie von Peter Konwitschny die Partie der Magdalena.

Weitere Partien an der Hamburgischen Staatsoper waren unter anderem die der Fenena in der Verdi-Oper „Nabucco“ in der Regie von Karoline Gruber, Mère Marie in Francis Poulencs „Dialogues des Carmélites“, Marquise de Berkenfield in Gaetano Donizettis „La Fille du Régiment“, Emilia in „Otello“ sowie Klementia in einer konzertanten Aufführung der Oper „Sancta Susanna“ von Paul Hindemith. In 2007 gab Katja Pieweck ihr Rollendebüt als Brangäne in Wagners „Tristan und Isolde“ unter Simone Young. In der Ballettinszenierung des „Weihnachtsoratoriums“ (J.S. Bach) von John Neumeier sang sie das Altsolo. In der neuen Hamburger Ring-Inszenierung ab 2008 gab Katja Pieweck ihr Rollendebüt als Fricka  (Premierenbesetzung in „Rheingold“). Weitere Partien seitdem waren unter anderem Meg Page in "Falstaff", Adelaide in "Arabella". In der Saison 2009/10 sang sie u.a. die Partie der Donna Elvira in „Don Giovanni“ und gab ihr Rollendebüt als Alice Ford in „Falstaff“. In 2010/11 war sie wiederholt als Fricka im “Rheingold“, Marcellina in “Le Nozze di Figaro“ sowie als 1. Dame in der „Zauberflöte“ zu hören. 2011/12 sang sie u.a. mit großem Erfolg die Partie der Goneril in der Premiere von A. Reimanns „Lear“. Ihre Partien an der Hamburgischen Staatsoper in 2012/13 waren u.a. Ortrud in „Lohengrin“, Fricka, Brangäne sowie Sieglinde in die „Walküre“ (Cover). Besonders hervorzuheben ist ihr Rollendebüt als Adriano in R. Wagners „Rienzi“. Des weiteren sang sie das Altsolo in John Neumeiers Ballettinszenierung der „Matthäuspassion“ von J.S. Bach unter dem Dirigat von Günter Jena. Neue Partien in 2013/14 umfassten u.a. die Titelpartie in R. Strauss’ „Ariadne auf Naxos“ und Leonore in „Fidelio“. Neu hinzu kommt in 2014/15 die Rolle der Marguerite in Honeggers „Jeanne d’Arc au bûcher“ an der Seite der namhaften Schauspielerin Fanny Ardant als Jeanne.


Katja Pieweck gastierte 2003/04 als 1. Magd /“Elektra“ an der Deutschen Staatsoper Berlin und war mit großem Erfolg als Eglantine in der Weber-Oper „Euryanthe“ am Staatstheater Mainz zu erleben. In 2005 wirkte die Sängerin bei zwei konzertanten Aufführungen der „Jenufa“ (Leos Janacek) mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Sir Simon Rattle mit und gastierte im selben Jahr als Aufseherin in „Elektra“ an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München unter Peter Schneider. In 2004 und wiederholt in 2006 sang sie die Partie der Marcellina in “Die Hochzeit des Figaro“ unter Enoch zu Guttenberg bei den Internationalen Herrenchiemsee Festspielen. In 2007 gab sie dort ihr Rollendebüt als Donna Elvira in „Don Giovanni“. In 2010 und 2011 kehrte sie zu den Internationalen Herrenchiemsee Festspielen als 2. Dame in der „Zauberflöte“ zurück. 2013 gastierte sie mit den Bamberger Symphonikern beim Lucerne Festival in Wagners „Walküre“ unter Jonathan Nott. In 2015 wird sie an der Bayerischen Staatsoper wieder in R. Srauss’ „Elektra“ gastieren


Neben ihrer Tätigkeit an der Oper trat Katja Pieweck immer auch als Konzert-, Lied- und Oratoriensängerin auf. Zahlreiche Konzertreisen führten sie durch Europa, sowie nach Israel, Rußland, Japan und die USA unter anderen mit Dirigenten wie Ingo Metzmacher, Gerd Albrecht, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Günter Jena, Sebastian Weigle, Rolf Beck oder Krzysztof Penderecki.

Stand September 2014

Mezzosopran Katja Pieweck
Mezzosopran Katja Pieweck