Daniel Johannsen repertoire opera operetta rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor Biography
Daniel Johannsen
Tenor
Daniel Johannsen repertoire concert lied
ABOUT US
NEWS
HOME
GERMAN
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor
ALTO

Born in 1978, the Austrian tenor is one of the most sought-after Evangelists and Bach interpreters of his generation. After completing his training as a church musician, he studied voice with Margit Klaushofer and Robert Holl in Vienna. He participated in master classes with Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Nicolai Gedda and Christa Ludwig and was a prizewinner at the Leipzig Bach, Schumann, Salzburg Mozart, Hilde Zadek and Wigmore Hall Competitions.


Since his debut in 1998, appearances as a concert, lieder and opera singer have taken him to the major musical centres of Europe, North America, Japan and the Middle East, where he sings works from every period. In addition to regular concerts at the Vienna Musikverein and Konzerthaus, he appears at leading festivals such as Styriarte Festival in Graz, Salzburg Festival, Carinthian Summer, Israel Festival, La Folle Journée, Herrenchiemsee Festspiele, and several international Bach festivals. He performs under such distinguished conductors as Sir Neville Marriner, Bertrand de Billy, Jordi Savall, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Thomas Hengelbrock, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Dennis Russell Davies, Trevor Pinnock, Michael Hofstetter, Hans-Christoph Rademann and Michel Corboz with various ensembles, including Le Concert des Nations, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, the Akademie fuer Alte Musik Berlin, the Salzburg Mozarteumorchester, the Israel Philharmonic – to name but a few. Daniel Johannsen is also involved in several large-scale Bach cantata projects.


The lyric tenor is engaged by such theatres as the Munich State Theater on Gärtnerplatz, the Leipzig Opera, the Theater an der Wien, the Vienna Volksoper, the Lucerne Theater, the Bonn Opera, the Ludwigsburg Castle Festival and the Munich Biennale, where he is heard in Mozart roles, Baroque, 20th-century and contemporary works as well as several operetta roles.

Recent engagements (2013 – 2016) have included: Tamino (Mozart, The Magic Flute) and the title role in Britten’s Albert Herring at the Vienna Volksoper, Tamino and the title role in a staged production of Handel’s Jephta under Andreas Spering at the Bonn Opera, Jaquino (Beethoven, Fidelio) at the Herrenchiemsee Festspiele, Belmonte (Mozart, The Abduction from the Seraglio) at Gießen Theatre and Conte Almaviva (Rossini, Il barbiere di Siviglia) at the Styriarte Festival in Graz – both under Michael Hofstetter. In 2016, he has repeated the part of Jephta, one of his most prominent roles, at the Festival Retz, Austria to great acclaim.

At present, Daniel Johannsen is working on a scenic adaption of Schubert’s Die Winterreise for various theatres in Luxembourg. In 2017, her will return to the Styriarte Festival in Graz for a new production of a baroque opera.


Song recitals featuring the entire range of German repertoire, in addition to English and French compositions, are a central focus in the work of the singer, who collaborates with such pianists as Burkhard Kehring, Roger Vignoles, Graham Johnson and Helmut Deutsch. Daniel Johannsen’s recording of the Dichterliebe was released in spring of 2010, following his first solo CD, Tenore & Traverso with arias by J. S. Bach, which received the ORF Pasticcio Award. In addition, numerous other recordings, radio and television broadcasts document his creative output.


In 2016 - 18, Daniel Johannsen returns to Sächsische Staatskapelle, Dresden, and to the Herrenchiemsee Festspiele. Graham Johnson has invited the tenor for the project ‘Schubert: The Complete Songs” at London Wigmore Hall. In addition, he is scheduled for song recitals in Israel and, with Charles Spencer, at the Vienna Konzerthaus. Further engagements include concerts at the Bachfest Schaffhausen and at the Leipzig Gewandhaus, Bach’s great oratorios at the Berlin Philharmonic Hall and at the Philharmonie of the Gasteig, Munich under Enoch zu Guttenberg, who has also engaged Daniel Johannsen for a tour throughout Canada and the USA including New York Carnegie Hall.


Last update  October 2016


Photo: Anette Friedel

Daniel Johannsen Tenor

rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor rahmen_kulturkontor Biographie
Daniel Johannsen
Tenor
Daniel Johannsen Repertoire Konzert Lied Daniel Johannsen Repertoire Oper Operette
MEZZOSOPRAN
TENOR
ALT
ÜBER UNS
AKTUELLES
HOME
ENGLISH
ENGLISH
HOME
AKTUELLES
K
ultur
K
Regine Dierse  Artists Management
ontor

Der österreichische Tenor, Jahrgang 1978, gehört zu den viel gefragten Evangelisten und Bach-Interpreten seiner Generation. Nach der Ausbildung zum Kirchenmusiker studierte er Gesang bei Margit Klaushofer und Robert Holl in Wien; er war Meisterschüler von Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Nicolai Gedda sowie Christa Ludwig und ist Preisträger des  Leipziger Bach-, Zwickauer Schumann-, Salzburger Mozart-, Hilde-Zadek- und Wigmore-Hall-Wettbewerbs.


Seit seinem Début 1998 führen ihn Auftritte als Konzert-, Lied- und Opernsänger mit Werken aller Epochen in die großen Musikzentren Europas, Nordamerikas, Japans und des Nahen Ostens. Neben regelmäßigen Konzerten im Wiener Musikverein und Konzerthaus war und ist er zu Gast bei zahlreichen Festivals wie Styriarte Graz, Salzburger Festspiele, Carinthischer Sommer, Israel Festival, La Folle Journée, Internationale Herrenchiemsee Festspiele sowie alljährlich bei verschiedenen internationalen Bach-Festen. Er musiziert unter der Leitung namhafter Dirigenten wie Sir Neville Marriner, Bertrand de Billy, Jordi Savall, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Thomas Hengelbrock, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Dennis Russell Davies, Trevor Pinnock, Michael Hofstetter, Hans-Christoph Rademann und Michel Corboz mit Orchestern wie Le Concert des Nations, den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe, der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, dem Mozarteum Orchester Salzburg, Israel Philharmonic – um nur einige zu nennen.

Daniel Johannsen ist zudem an einigen groß angelegten Bach-Kantatenprojekten beteiligt.


Auf der Opernbühne ist der lyrische Tenor, den Engagements etwa an das Münchner Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz, die Oper Leipzig, das Theater an der Wien, die Volksoper Wien, das Luzerner Theater, die Oper Bonn, zu den Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspielen oder zur Münchner Biennale führten, mit Mozart-Partien, mit Werken des Barock, des 20. Jahrhunderts und der Moderne, aber auch in einigen Operettenrollen zu erleben.

Engagements der letzten Zeit (2013 bis 2016) umfassten: Tamino (Mozart, „Die Zauberflöte“) und Albert Herring in Brittens gleichnamiger Komödie an der Volksoper Wien, Tamino sowie die Titelpartie in einer szenischen Produktion von Händels „Jephtha“ unter Andreas Spering an der Oper Bonn, Jaquino (Beethoven, „Fidelio“) bei den Herrenchiemsee Festspielen, Belmonte (Mozart, „Die Entführung aus dem Serail“) in Gießen und Conte Almaviva (Rossini, „Il barbiere di Siviglia“) bei der Styriarte Graz – beides unter Michael Hofstetter. Den Jephtha, eine seiner profiliertesten Rollen, verkörperte Daniel Johannsen kürzlich auch beim Festival Retz (Österreich); derzeit erarbeitet der Sänger eine szenische Adaption von Schuberts „Winterreise“ für mehrere Luxemburger Theater, 2017 wird er im Rahmen einer Barockoper neuerlich Gast der Styriarte sein.


Liederabende mit der ganzen Bandbreite des deutschen Repertoires, aber auch mit englischen und französischen Kompositionen, bilden einen Schwerpunkt in der Tätigkeit des Sängers, der mit Pianisten wie Burkhard Kehring, Roger Vignoles, Graham Johnson und Helmut Deutsch zusammenarbeitet. Im Frühjahr 2010 erschien Daniel Johannsens Aufnahme der „Dichterliebe“ und folgte seiner mit dem Pasticcio-Preis des ORF ausgezeichneten ersten Solo-CD „Tenore & Traverso“ mit Arien von J. S. Bach. Darüber hinaus dokumentieren zahlreiche weitere Tonträger sowie Rundfunk- und Fernsehaufnahmen seine künstlerische Arbeit.


2016 - 2017 ist Daniel Johannsen abermals zu Gast bei der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden sowie bei den Herrenchiemsee-Festspielen. Graham Johnson lud den Sänger zu seinem Projekt „Schubert: The Complete Songs“ in die Londoner Wigmore Hall ein. Auftritte führen ihn etwa zum Bachfest Schaffhausen und ins Leipziger Gewandhaus. Auf seinem Terminkalender stehen Liederabende in Israel und, an der Seite von Charles Spencer, im Wiener Konzerthaus. Des weiteren ist er mit Bachs großen Oratorien in der Berliner Philahrmonie und in der Philharmonie am Gasteig in zu hören — unter der Leitung von Enoch zu Guttenberg, der den Sänger auch für eine USA/Kanada-Tournée verpflichtete, in deren Rahmen er etwa in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall debütieren wird.


Stand Oktober 2016

Foto: Anette Friedel

Daniel Johannsen Tenor
Daniel Johannsen Tenor